Design Communication II

ARCH X 466E
This course explores the full range of constructed line drawings, including axonometric, one-point perspective, and model making.
READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Classroom
Starting at $799.00
As few as 11 weeks
6.0 Credits

About this course:

This course further introduces the student to the use of line drawings as a medium for communicating design concepts. Beginning with the connections of architectural plan, section, and elevation, the course proceeds to explore the full range of constructed line drawings, including axonometric, one-point perspective, and model-making. This course uses U.S. standard basic units of length (inch, foot, yard, etc.), not the international metric system. Two conceptual design projects help develop skills in communicating design ideas.
Suggested Prerequisites

It is advisable that you complete the following (or equivalent) since they are prerequisites for Design Communication II.

X 467.17A Design Communication I. Enrollment limited. This course is equivalent to Cal Poly Pomona INA 512.

Fall 2018 Schedule

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Enrollment Closed
-
Wednesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
363369
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes
No refund after October 3, 2018. 
Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 3, 2018
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Wed Sep 26, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Oct 3, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Oct 10, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Oct 17, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Oct 24, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Oct 31, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Nov 7, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Nov 14, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Nov 21, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Nov 28, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Dec 5, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Enrollment Closed
-
Thursday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Instructor: Patrick Allen
363368
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

No meeting November 22, 2018. One meeting to be arranged. 

No refund after October 4, 2018. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 4, 2018
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Thu Sep 27, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Oct 4, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Oct 11, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Oct 18, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Oct 25, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Nov 1, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Nov 8, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Nov 15, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Nov 22, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Nov 29, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Dec 6, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Enrollment Closed
-
Monday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Instructor: Patrick Allen
365483
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

No meeting November 12, 2018. One meeting to be arranged. 

No refund after October 1, 2018. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after September 17, 2018
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Mon Sep 24, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Mon Oct 1, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Mon Oct 8, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Mon Oct 15, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Mon Oct 22, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Mon Oct 29, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Mon Nov 5, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Mon Nov 12, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Mon Nov 19, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Mon Nov 26, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Mon Dec 3, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Mon Dec 10, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Future Offering (Opens 05 Nov 2018 12:00:00 AM)
-
Monday, Tuesday 2:30PM - 5:45PM
Instructor: Salvatore Leonardi
365181
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

No meeting January 21, 2019; February 18, 2019. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 14, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Interior Graphic and Design Standards by S.C. Reznikoff
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Mon Jan 7, 2019
2:30PM - 5:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Jan 14, 2019
2:30PM - 5:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Jan 21, 2019
2:30PM - 5:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Tue Jan 22, 2019
2:30PM - 5:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Jan 28, 2019
2:30PM - 5:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Feb 4, 2019
2:30PM - 5:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Feb 11, 2019
2:30PM - 5:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Feb 18, 2019
2:30PM - 5:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Tue Feb 19, 2019
2:30PM - 5:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Feb 25, 2019
2:30PM - 5:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Mar 4, 2019
2:30PM - 5:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Mar 11, 2019
2:30PM - 5:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Mar 18, 2019
2:30PM - 5:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Future Offering (Opens 05 Nov 2018 12:00:00 AM)
-
Wednesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Instructor: Lawrence Drasin
365180
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 16, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Wed Jan 9, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Jan 16, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Jan 23, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Jan 30, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Feb 6, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Feb 13, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Feb 20, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Feb 27, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Mar 6, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Mar 13, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Mar 20, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Future Offering (Opens 05 Nov 2018 12:00:00 AM)
-
Thursday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Instructor: Patrick Allen
365200
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 17, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Interior Graphic and Design Standards by S.C. Reznikoff
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Thu Jan 10, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Jan 17, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Jan 24, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Jan 31, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Feb 7, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Feb 14, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Feb 21, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Feb 28, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Mar 7, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Mar 14, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Mar 21, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

What you will learn.

  • Understand how to use line drawings as a medium for communicating design concepts
  • Explore the full range of constructed line drawings
  • Learn one-point perspective, axonometric, and model making
Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Architecture & Interior Design

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning