Surface Materials

ARCH X 427.7
This introductory course to surface materials for interior designers covers the selection and use of textiles, wall coverings, hard and soft surfaces, floor coverings, rugs, ceramic and vinyl tile, woods, and plastics.
READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Classroom
Starting at $799.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0 Credits

What you can learn.

  • Learn how to properly select and use the right surface material for the job
  • Gain first-hand industry knowledge through guest speakers and field trips
  • Understand why certain materials work well with others

About this course:

An introduction to surface materials for interior designers, this course covers the selection and use of textiles, wall coverings, hard and soft surfaces, floor coverings, rugs, ceramic and vinyl tile, woods, and plastics. Instruction includes illustrated lectures, demonstrations, guest speakers, field trips, and research assignments.

Suggested Prerequisites

It is advisable that you complete the following (or equivalent) since they are prerequisites for Surface Materials.

All courses through the third quarter in the Interior Design Certificate (see curriculum sequence).

Winter 2019 Schedule

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Wait List
-
Tuesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Instructor: Klara Kanai
365168
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 15, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Jan 8, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 320
Discussion
Tue Jan 15, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 320
Discussion
Tue Jan 22, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 320
Discussion
Tue Jan 29, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 320
Discussion
Tue Feb 5, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 320
Discussion
Tue Feb 12, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 320
Discussion
Tue Feb 19, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 320
Discussion
Tue Feb 26, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 320
Discussion
Tue Mar 5, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 320
Discussion
Tue Mar 12, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 320
Discussion
Tue Mar 19, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 320
Wait List
-
Wednesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Tatyana Zhukova
366663
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 16, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Wed Jan 9, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A46
Discussion
Wed Jan 16, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A46
Discussion
Wed Jan 23, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A46
Discussion
Wed Jan 30, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A46
Discussion
Wed Feb 6, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A46
Discussion
Wed Feb 13, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A46
Discussion
Wed Feb 20, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A46
Discussion
Wed Feb 27, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A46
Discussion
Wed Mar 6, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A46
Discussion
Wed Mar 13, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A46
Discussion
Wed Mar 20, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A46

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Architecture & Interior Design

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning