Design Communication I

ARCH X 467.17A
This beginning interior design course focuses on basic freehand drawing and drafting.
READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Classroom
Starting at $799.00
As few as 11 weeks
6.0 Credits

About this course:

This beginning course focuses on basic freehand drawing and drafting. All the components essential to good drawing are presented and discussed. Working almost exclusively in black-and-white, students embark on a series of exercises that introduce important visual concepts--composition and design, contour and line, proportion and scale, plan and section, form and space, tone and shadows--plus the ability to create drawings that are rich in both information and psychological content. This class is based on the U.S. standard measurements of feet and inches and not the international metric system. Media covered include a variety of sketching and drafting tools. 

Spring 2019 Schedule

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Available
-
Thursday 2:30PM - 5:30PM
Instructor: Christopher Carr
366826
Fee:
$799.00
43 days left. Enroll by Apr 4, 2019
See Details
Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 11, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Thu Apr 4, 2019
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Apr 11, 2019
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Apr 18, 2019
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Apr 25, 2019
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu May 2, 2019
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu May 9, 2019
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu May 16, 2019
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu May 23, 2019
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu May 30, 2019
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Jun 6, 2019
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Jun 13, 2019
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Wait List
-
Wednesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Instructor: Lawrence Drasin
366825
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 10, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Architectural Graphics by Francis D.K. Ching
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Wed Apr 3, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Apr 10, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Apr 17, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Apr 24, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed May 1, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed May 8, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed May 15, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed May 22, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed May 29, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Jun 5, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Jun 12, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Wait List
-
Monday 6:30PM - 9:30PM
Instructor: Salvatore Leonardi
366824
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes
No meeting May 27, 2019.  
Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 8, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Mon Apr 1, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Apr 8, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Apr 15, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Apr 22, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Apr 29, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon May 6, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon May 13, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon May 20, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon May 27, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Jun 3, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Jun 10, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

What you will learn.

  • Learn basic freehand drawing and drafting
  • Explore all the components essential to good drawing
  • Learn about composition and design, proportion and size, and form and space
  • Gain the ability to create drawings rich in information and psychological content
Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Interior Design: Foundation Level

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning