Practical Training for Fitness Instructors

COM HLT X 451.1
This course is designed for training personal fitness and/or group exercise leaders as they gain practical experience with exercise instruction to various populations.
READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Classroom
Starting at $695.00
As few as 33 weeks
14.0 Credits

What you can learn.

  • Explore how to execute various exercises using a variety of equipment
  • Observe and shadow trainers and fitness instructors
  • Practice teaching exercise to others while receiving feedback in a safe, supportive environment

About this course:

Bring your knowledge of anatomy and biomechanics to life by learning the basic equation for all exercise instruction, keys to effective exercise demonstration, the art of various cueing techniques, safety and precision of fitness-testing administration, and fundamentals of exercise progression. Gain practical exercise instruction experience while you practice these skills in a safe, supportive environment with the opportunity for feedback. This course trains you to be a personal fitness trainer and/or group exercise leader who works with mainstream populations and also addresses training special populations. Learn, practice, and receive feedback in the execution of various exercises using a variety of equipment. Exercise genres covered include selectorized equipment, cable equipment, free weights, body weight exercises, basic powerlifting techniques, kettlebells, plyometrics and sports conditioning, basic mat Pilates and core training, popular cardio machines, walking, running, stretching/flexibility, and other small equipment (medicine balls, foam rollers, Dyna Discs, gliding discs, Bosu balls, stability balls, tubing and resistance bands, etc.) Improve your form for better exercise demonstration when teaching. Participants observe and shadow trainers and fitness instructors, then teach others in a supervised setting with the opportunity for feedback. Wednesday lectures cover concept review and test prep. Friday classes are for practical training and concepts.

Fall 2018 Schedule

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Available
-
Wednesday, Friday
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Elisa Terry
363515
Fee:
$695.00
34 days left. Enroll by Oct 24, 2018
See Details
Notes

No meeting November 23.

Meets Fall through Spring Quarter. Enrollment/class participation contingent on signing a liability waiver. Two full elective credits in Fitness Instruction Certificate.

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline October 26, 2018. No refund after October 31, 2018.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 31, 2018
Course Requirements
Book: NSCA's Essentials of Personal Training by Coburn, Jared W., Malek Moh H., National Strength and Conditioning Association Staff
(Optional) Book: The Anatomy Coloring Book by Kapit, Wynn, Elson, Lawrence M.
(Optional) Book: Anatomy of Movement by Calais-German, Blandine
(Optional) Book: Full-Body Flexibility
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Oct 24, 2018
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Oct 26, 2018
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Oct 31, 2018
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Nov 2, 2018
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Nov 7, 2018
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Nov 9, 2018
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Nov 14, 2018
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Nov 16, 2018
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Nov 21, 2018
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Nov 23, 2018
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Nov 28, 2018
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Nov 30, 2018
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Dec 5, 2018
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Dec 7, 2018
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Jan 9, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Jan 11, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Jan 16, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Jan 18, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Jan 23, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Jan 25, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Jan 30, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Feb 1, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Feb 6, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Feb 8, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Feb 13, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Feb 15, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Feb 20, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Feb 22, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Feb 27, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Mar 1, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Mar 6, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Mar 8, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Mar 13, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Mar 15, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Apr 3, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Apr 5, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Apr 10, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Apr 12, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Apr 17, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Apr 19, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Apr 24, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Apr 26, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed May 1, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri May 3, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed May 8, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri May 10, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed May 15, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri May 17, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed May 22, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri May 24, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed May 29, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri May 31, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Jun 5, 2019
7:30PM - 9:15PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Jun 7, 2019
3:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
John Wooden Center

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Health Care & Counseling-General

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning