Microbiology Laboratory for Professional Schools

MIMG XL 100L
Designed for non-majors, this course emphasizes experimental techniques to cultivate and characterize bacteria.
READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Classroom
Starting at $2,733.00
As few as 11 weeks
3.0 Credits

What you can learn.

  • Execute experiments in groups to analyze microorganisms and viruses
  • Explore how environmental conditions influence microbial growth
  • Understand light microscopy and quantitative techniques required for microbiological and biochemical processes

About this course:

Experimental techniques of microbiology, with emphasis on cultivation and characterization of bacteria. Laboratory exercises include light microscopy, quantitative techniques, and identification methods. Students learn to work effectively in groups to perform experiments, record observations, and analyze results. Limited to non-majors. Letter grading. Transferable for UC credit.
Suggested Prerequisites

It is advisable that you complete the following (or equivalent) since they are prerequisites for Microbiology Laboratory for Professional Schools.

Life Sciences 7A, 7B, and 23L.

Fall 2018 Schedule

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Available
-
Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday
Instructor: Rishab Gupta
363900
Fee:
$2,733.00
4 days left. Enroll by Sep 26, 2018
See Details
Notes

Laboratory meets on Santa Monica College campus. Enrollment contingent upon signing a liability waiver form.

Fee includes lab costs. Additional non-refundable fee after September 29, 2018: $285.

Enrollment limited to 25 students. Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: September 29, 2018. No refund after October 3, 2018. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 3, 2018
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Sep 26, 2018
6:30PM - 8:30PM
UCLA
Young Hall 4216
Lab
Sat Sep 29, 2018
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Santa Monica College
Science Building 209
Lecture
Wed Oct 3, 2018
6:30PM - 8:30PM
UCLA
Young Hall 4216
Lab
Sat Oct 6, 2018
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Santa Monica College
Science Building 209
Lecture
Wed Oct 10, 2018
6:30PM - 8:30PM
UCLA
Young Hall 4216
Lab
Sat Oct 13, 2018
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Santa Monica College
Science Building 209
Lecture
Wed Oct 17, 2018
6:30PM - 8:30PM
UCLA
Young Hall 4216
Lab
Sat Oct 20, 2018
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Santa Monica College
Science Building 209
Lecture
Wed Oct 24, 2018
6:30PM - 8:30PM
UCLA
Young Hall 4216
Lab
Sat Oct 27, 2018
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Santa Monica College
Science Building 209
Lecture
Wed Oct 31, 2018
6:30PM - 8:30PM
UCLA
Young Hall 4216
Lab
Sat Nov 3, 2018
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Santa Monica College
Science Building 209
Lecture
Wed Nov 14, 2018
6:30PM - 8:30PM
UCLA
Young Hall 4216
Lecture
Thu Nov 15, 2018
6:30PM - 8:30PM
UCLA
Young Hall 4216
Lab
Fri Nov 16, 2018
6:00PM - 9:00PM
Santa Monica College
Science Building 209
Lab
Sat Nov 17, 2018
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Santa Monica College
Science Building 209
Lecture
Wed Nov 21, 2018
6:30PM - 8:30PM
UCLA
Young Hall 4216
Lecture
Wed Nov 28, 2018
6:30PM - 8:30PM
UCLA
Young Hall 4216
Lab
Sat Dec 1, 2018
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Santa Monica College
Science Building 209
Lecture
Wed Dec 5, 2018
6:30PM - 8:30PM
UCLA
Young Hall 4216
Lab
Sat Dec 8, 2018
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Santa Monica College
Science Building 209

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Sciences

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning