Photography Certificate

Designed for individuals who have recently purchased a digital SLR, or who have been shooting independently without formal instruction or guidance, the Photography Certificate provides a solid foundation in the technical and visual aspects of photography, and in particular digital photography. Courses guide students through the technology, and expose students to the core principles of effective photography, including digital image capture, editing, composition and lighting. Led by instructors who are working photography professionals, students leave the program with the technical background and making processes that make a strong photographer.

The certificate is made up of 10 courses.

6 Required Courses   
Photography I (4 units)   
Photography II (4 units) 
Shooting Like the Masters: A History of Photography (4 units)      
Lighting I (4 units)   
Lighting II (4 units)        
Portfolio Workshop (4 units)       

1 Required Elective (1 course from the following list)    
Photographic Portraiture (4 units) 
Environmental Portraiture (4 units)   
3 Suggested Electives (3 courses from the following list - elective offerings vary by quarter)    
Photographic Composition (4 units)       
Photoshop I (4 units)
Photoshop II (4 units)           
Shoot and Critique: A Digital Photography Workshop (4 units)
Visualizing the Urban Landscape (4 units)      
Fine Art Photography (4 units)              
Mentorship (4 units)   
Documentary and Landscape Photography (4 units)    

Certificate students receive significant discounts on Adobe software at the UCLA Student store, as well as a one-year membership to the Los Angeles chapter of APA, American Photographic Artists. In addition, certificate students can receive a Bruincard for a $10 fee.

To see a list of all of current photography courses, click here.

For other questions about our program, e-mail photography@uclaextension.edu, or call (310) 206-1422.