Writing the First Screenplay I

FILM TV X 440A
Learn how to write a screenplay by developing a compelling story and tackling a feature film script outline in this first course of a four-course sequence.
READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Classroom
Online
Starting at $575.00
As few as 10 weeks
3.0 Credits

What you can learn.

  • Create and evaluate movie story ideas
  • Design fully realized characters
  • Chart a complex, unique plot
  • Write compelling film scenes
  • Complete a 4-5 page feature film outline

About this course:

The first in a four-part sequence designed to take you through the full process of writing a feature film screenplay, this course grounds you in the key craft elements of story structure, plot, scene development, character, theme, genre, and dialogue, and shows you how they work together to grip an audience's emotions. You learn how to create and evaluate story ideas; explore how characters' inner wants and immediate goals shape and drive a screenplay's action; see what constitutes compelling plots and subplots; and learn how to construct a scene. Throughout the course, you complete a series of exercises which serve as the basis for your script outline, a prose description of your screenplay. The course goal is to learn how to write effective, compelling scenes and to create a four-to-five-page outline that clearly delineates your script's beginning, middle, and end. The ability to write an effective outline is a critical skill for the professional screenwriter, serves as the basis for most pitches, and is required for admission into X 440B Writing the First Screenplay II. This course counts toward the 4-course Writing and Directing Short Films Specialization.

Winter 2019 Schedule

These courses are fully online, and there are no in-person classroom meetings.

Available
-
Instructor: Larry Wilson
364596
Fee:
$695.00
27 days left. Enroll by Jan 9, 2019
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited to 15 students. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 14, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Available
-
Instructor: Ron Wilkerson
364597
Fee:
$695.00
27 days left. Enroll by Jan 9, 2019
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited to 15 students. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 14, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Available
-
Instructor: Ronald Raley
364598
Fee:
$695.00
27 days left. Enroll by Jan 9, 2019
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited to 15 students. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 14, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Available
-
Wednesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Hank Nelken
364540
Fee:
$575.00
27 days left. Enroll by Jan 9, 2019
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited to 20 students. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 14, 2019
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Wed Jan 9, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Wed Jan 16, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Wed Jan 23, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Wed Jan 30, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Wed Feb 6, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Wed Feb 13, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Wed Feb 20, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Wed Feb 27, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Wed Mar 6, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Wed Mar 13, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Available
-
Thursday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Peter Barsocchini
364546
Fee:
$575.00
28 days left. Enroll by Jan 10, 2019
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited to 20 students. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 15, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Thu Jan 10, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Thu Jan 17, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Thu Jan 24, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Thu Jan 31, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Thu Feb 7, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Thu Feb 14, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Thu Feb 21, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Thu Feb 28, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Thu Mar 7, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Discussion
Thu Mar 14, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1256
Available
-
Saturday 10:00AM - 1:00PM
Instructor: Cynthia Riddle
364548
Fee:
$575.00
30 days left. Enroll by Jan 12, 2019
See Details
Notes

No meeting January 19.

Enrollment limited to 20 students. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 17, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Sat Jan 12, 2019
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 205AB - Coldwater/Corral
Discussion
Sat Jan 26, 2019
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 205AB - Coldwater/Corral
Discussion
Sat Feb 2, 2019
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 205AB - Coldwater/Corral
Discussion
Sat Feb 9, 2019
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 205AB - Coldwater/Corral
Discussion
Sat Feb 16, 2019
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 205AB - Coldwater/Corral
Discussion
Sat Feb 23, 2019
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 205AB - Coldwater/Corral
Discussion
Sat Mar 2, 2019
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 205AB - Coldwater/Corral
Discussion
Sat Mar 9, 2019
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 205AB - Coldwater/Corral
Discussion
Sat Mar 16, 2019
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 205AB - Coldwater/Corral
Discussion
Sat Mar 23, 2019
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 205AB - Coldwater/Corral
Available
-
Monday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Instructor: Andrew Knauer
364565
Fee:
$575.00
25 days left. Enroll by Jan 7, 2019
See Details
Notes

No meeting on 1/21/19 and 2/18/19.

Enrollment limited to 20 students. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 12, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Mon Jan 7, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Mon Jan 14, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Mon Jan 21, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Mon Jan 28, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Mon Feb 4, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Mon Feb 11, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Mon Feb 25, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Mon Mar 4, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Mon Mar 11, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Mon Mar 18, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Mon Mar 25, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Available
-
Tuesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Laurence Rosenthal
364595
Fee:
$575.00
26 days left. Enroll by Jan 8, 2019
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited to 20 students. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 13, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Jan 8, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2325
Discussion
Tue Jan 15, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2325
Discussion
Tue Jan 22, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2325
Discussion
Tue Jan 29, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2325
Discussion
Tue Feb 5, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2325
Discussion
Tue Feb 12, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2325
Discussion
Tue Feb 19, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2325
Discussion
Tue Feb 26, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2325
Discussion
Tue Mar 5, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2325
Discussion
Tue Mar 12, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2325

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Screenwriting

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning