About

Leadership

Dean's Message

dean-eric-bullard

Welcome to the Division of Continuing Education and UCLA Extension

We believe deeply in the transformative power of education and are committed to UCLA’s teaching, research, and service mission.

UCLA Extension has a rich history dating back more than 100 years—1917 to be exact—when it took root in downtown Los Angeles before UCLA was founded in 1919.

As educational pioneers, continuing educators from UCLA Extension have for more than a century developed and launched bold new programs and classes to meet the educational needs of Angelenos, Californians and the world population alike. We are thought leaders and educational innovators who are invested in the future of our society.

Our program and class designs bridge theory to practice, providing a powerful educational experience that is uniquely grounded in applied learning. UCLA Extension instructors are leading experts in their fields, and they are equipped with the latest tools and research to help our students and partners succeed and thrive.

Whether you are interested in enriching your life, tackling social issues, or seeking career mobility or transition, UCLA Extension is here for you. Offering classes in online, hybrid, and face-to-face modalities, wherever you find yourself in the world, UCLA Extension is your lifelong educational partner. We deliver individuals and organizations access to world-class education from the #1 ranked public research university in the United States.

As the new dean of Continuing Education and UCLA Extension, I invite you to explore our many programs and classes, join us at events, or simply reach out to connect with us.

Sincerely,

Eric A. Bullard, Ph.D.
Dean, Continuing Education and UCLA Extension
DeansOffice@uclaextension.edu

 

UCLA Extension Leadership Team

John Lyons
Associate Dean, Administration/CFO
jlyons@uclaextension.edu
Sheila King
Interim Chief of Staff and Assistant Dean for Strategic Initiatives
sking@uclaextension.edu
310-825-7093
Varaz Shahmirian, Ph.D.
Interim Associate Dean of Academic and Faculty Affairs
vshahmirian@uclaextension.edu
310-206-1543
Tara Neuwirth
Interim Assistant Dean of International Programs
tneuwirt@uclaextension.edu
310-794-3251

Helen Williams
Executive Communications and Events Manager
hwilliam@uclaextension.edu
310-825-7729

Arts

Pascale Cohen-Olivar
Department Director
Program Director, Entertainment Studies
pcohen@uclaextension.edu
310-206-7862

Jeffrey Daniels
Program Director, Architecture & Interior Design
jdaniels@uclaextension.edu
310-825-9061

Scott Hutchinson
Program Director, Visual Arts
shutchin@uclaextension.edu
310-206-1422

Charles Jensen
Program Director, Writers' Program
cjensen@uclaextension.edu
310-206-2524

Stephanie Landregan
Program Director, Landscape Architecture and Horticulture
slandreg@uclaextension.edu
310-825-1735

Business, Management & Legal Programs

Roger Torneden
Department Director
rtorneden@uclaextension.edu
310-206-1720 

Ing Phansavath
Associate Department Director
Program Director, Leadership, Management, Communication, Industry Segments
iphansav@uclaextension.edu
310-206-7509

Mark Ramseyer
Program Director, Financial Management Programs
mramseyer@uclaextension.edu
310-206-7248

Aymara Zielina
Program Director, Legal Programs
azielina@uclaextension.edu
310-825-0299

Custom Programs & Corporate Education

Denis Couturier
Department Director
dcouturier@uclaextension.edu
310-206-8600

Education

Helen Davis
Interim Department Director
hdavis@uclaextension.edu
310-825-9936

Engineering & Digital Technology

Varaz Shahmirian
Department Director
vshahmirian@uclaextension.edu
310-206-1543

Vivian Taslakian
Program Director
vtaslakian@uclaextension.edu
310-825-5010

Humanities & Sciences

Ric Zappala
Department Director
rzappala@uclaextension.edu
310-206-4298

Stephanie Hoekstra
Program Director, Applied Sciences, Public Policy, American Collegiate
shoekstra@uclaextension.edu
310-825-1390

International 

Tara Neuwirth
Interim Assistant Dean of International Programs
tneuwirt@uclaextension.edu
310-794-3251

Budget & Financial Services (BFS)

Bob M Woo
Interim Director
bwoo@uclaextension.edu
310-825-2560

Facilities Management

Eric Matsuura
Director
matsuura@uclaextension.edu
310-206-9293

Human Resources

Katrin Kaehler
Director
kkaehler@uclaextension.edu
310-206-8142

Information Technology Services (ITS)

Carlos De La Rosa
Chief Information Officer
Director, ITS
cdelarosa@uclaextension.edu
310-825-4281

Instructional Development

Luiz Teixeira
Interim Director
lteixeira@uclaextension.edu
310-206-0605

Strategic Communications & Marketing

Patricia Galea
Executive Director
pgalea@uclaextension.edu
310-206-0425

 

 

 

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning