Design Communication I

ARCH X 467.17A

This beginning interior design course focuses on basic freehand drawing and drafting.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Classroom
Starting at $799.00
As few as 11 weeks
6.0

What you can learn.

  • Freehand drawing and drafting
  • Explore all the components essential to good drawing
  • Composition and design, proportion and size, and form and space
  • Gain the ability to create drawings rich in information and psychological content

About this course:

This beginning course focuses on basic freehand drawing and drafting. All the components essential to good drawing are presented and discussed. Working almost exclusively in black-and-white, students embark on a series of exercises that introduce important visual concepts--composition and design, contour and line, proportion and scale, plan and section, form and space, tone and shadows--plus the ability to create drawings that are rich in both information and psychological content. This class is based on the U.S. standard measurements of feet and inches and not the international metric system. Media covered include a variety of sketching and drafting tools. 

Winter 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Wait List
-
Tuesday 6:30PM - 9:30PM
Location: UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
Instructor: Salvatore Leonardi
370892
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 14, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Jan 7, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Tue Jan 14, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Tue Jan 21, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Tue Jan 28, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Tue Feb 4, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Tue Feb 11, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Tue Feb 18, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Tue Feb 25, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Tue Mar 3, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Tue Mar 10, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Tue Mar 17, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Wait List
-
Thursday 2:30PM - 5:30PM
Location: UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
Instructor: Christopher Carr
370891
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 16, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Thu Jan 9, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Jan 16, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Jan 23, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Jan 30, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Feb 6, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Feb 13, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Feb 20, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Feb 27, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Mar 5, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Mar 12, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Mar 19, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Available
-
Thursday 6:30PM - 9:30PM
Location: UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
Instructor: Mamun Hashem
370889
Fee:
$799.00
51 days left. Enroll by Jan 9, 2020
See Details
Notes

 

 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 16, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Thu Jan 9, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Jan 16, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Jan 23, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Jan 30, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Feb 6, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Feb 13, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Feb 20, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Feb 27, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Mar 5, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Mar 12, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Thu Mar 19, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406

Available Format(s):

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Available
-
Wednesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
Instructor: Lawrence Drasin
373118
Fee:
$799.00
60 days left. Enroll by Jan 18, 2020
See Details
Notes

 

 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 08, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Wed Apr 1, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Apr 8, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Apr 15, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Apr 22, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Apr 29, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed May 6, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed May 13, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed May 20, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed May 27, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Jun 3, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Wed Jun 10, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Available
-
Thursday 2:30PM - 5:30PM
Location: UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
Instructor: Christopher Carr
373116
Fee:
$799.00
60 days left. Enroll by Jan 18, 2020
See Details
Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 09, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Thu Apr 2, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Apr 9, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Apr 16, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Apr 23, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Apr 30, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu May 7, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu May 14, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu May 21, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu May 28, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Jun 4, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Discussion
Thu Jun 11, 2020
2:30PM - 5:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 304
Available
-
Monday 6:30PM - 9:45PM
Location: UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
Instructor: Salvatore Leonardi
373115
Fee:
$799.00
58 days left. Enroll by Jan 16, 2020
See Details
Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 06, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Mon Mar 30, 2020
6:30PM - 9:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Apr 6, 2020
6:30PM - 9:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Apr 13, 2020
6:30PM - 9:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Apr 20, 2020
6:30PM - 9:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Apr 27, 2020
6:30PM - 9:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon May 4, 2020
6:30PM - 9:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon May 11, 2020
6:30PM - 9:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon May 18, 2020
6:30PM - 9:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon May 25, 2020
6:30PM - 9:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Jun 1, 2020
6:30PM - 9:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406
Discussion
Mon Jun 8, 2020
6:30PM - 9:45PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 406

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Interior Design

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning