Design Communication I

ARCH X 467.17A

This beginning interior design course focuses on basic freehand drawing and drafting.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $799.00
As few as 11 weeks
6.0

What you can learn.

  • Freehand drawing and drafting
  • Explore all the components essential to good drawing
  • Composition and design, proportion and size, and form and space
  • Gain the ability to create drawings rich in information and psychological content

About this course:

This beginning course focuses on basic freehand drawing and drafting. All the components essential to good drawing are presented and discussed. Working almost exclusively in black-and-white, students embark on a series of exercises that introduce important visual concepts--composition and design, contour and line, proportion and scale, plan and section, form and space, tone and shadows--plus the ability to create drawings that are rich in both information and psychological content. This class is based on the U.S. standard measurements of feet and inches and not the international metric system. Media covered include a variety of sketching and drafting tools. 

Spring 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses meet regularly and are fully online. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Wait List
-
Wednesday 7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Lawrence Drasin
373118
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 08, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Architectural Graphics by Francis D.K. Ching
Interior Graphic and Design Standards by S.C. Reznikoff
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Apr 1, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 8, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 15, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 22, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 29, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 6, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 13, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 20, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 27, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jun 3, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jun 10, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Wait List
-
Thursday 2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Christopher Carr
373116
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 09, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Apr 2, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Apr 9, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Apr 16, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Apr 23, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Apr 30, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu May 7, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu May 14, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu May 21, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu May 28, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jun 4, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jun 11, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PDT
Online
Wait List
-
Monday 6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Salvatore Leonardi
373115
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes
No meeting May 25. One meeting to be arranged. 
Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 06, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Mar 30, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Apr 6, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Apr 13, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Apr 20, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Apr 27, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon May 4, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon May 11, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon May 18, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon May 25, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jun 1, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jun 8, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Interior Design

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning