Design Communication I

ARCH X 467.17A

This beginning interior design course focuses on basic freehand drawing and drafting.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $799.00
As few as 11 weeks
6.0

What you can learn.

  • Freehand drawing and drafting
  • Explore all the components essential to good drawing
  • Composition and design, proportion and size, and form and space
  • Gain the ability to create drawings rich in information and psychological content

About this course:

This beginning course focuses on basic freehand drawing and drafting. All the components essential to good drawing are presented and discussed. Working almost exclusively in black-and-white, students embark on a series of exercises that introduce important visual concepts--composition and design, contour and line, proportion and scale, plan and section, form and space, tone and shadows--plus the ability to create drawings that are rich in both information and psychological content. This class is based on the U.S. standard measurements of feet and inches and not the international metric system. Media covered include a variety of sketching and drafting tools. 

Fall 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Wait List
-
Tuesday 7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Location: Online
Instructor: Mamun Hashem
376351
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 06, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Sep 29, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 6, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 13, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 20, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 27, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 3, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 10, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 17, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 24, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Dec 1, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Dec 8, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Wait List
-
Thursday 2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PST
Location: Online
Instructor: Christopher Carr
376350
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 08, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Oct 1, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PST
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 8, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PST
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 15, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PST
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 22, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PST
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 29, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PST
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 5, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PST
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 12, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PST
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 19, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PST
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 26, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PST
Online
Lecture
Thu Dec 3, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PST
Online
Lecture
Thu Dec 10, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PST
Online
Lecture
Thu Dec 17, 2020
2:30PM PDT - 5:30PM PST
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Interior Design

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning