Design Communication I

ARCH X 467.17A

This beginning interior design course focuses on basic freehand drawing and drafting.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote
Online
In-Person
Starting at $799.00
As few as 11 weeks
6.0

What you can learn.

  • Freehand drawing and drafting
  • Explore all the components essential to good drawing
  • Composition and design, proportion and size, and form and space
  • Gain the ability to create drawings rich in information and psychological content

About this course:

This beginning course focuses on basic freehand drawing and drafting. All the components essential to good drawing are presented and discussed. Working almost exclusively in black-and-white, students embark on a series of exercises that introduce important visual concepts--composition and design, contour and line, proportion and scale, plan and section, form and space, tone and shadows--plus the ability to create drawings that are rich in both information and psychological content. This class is based on the U.S. standard measurements of feet and inches and not the international metric system. Media covered include a variety of sketching and drafting tools. 

Fall 2021 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
This section has no set meeting times.
Enrollment Closed
See Details
Instructor: Salvatore Leonardi
382925
Fee:
$799.00
Onlineformat icon
Refund Deadline
No refunds after September 27, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
-
Monday 6:30PM - 9:30PM PT
Canceled
See Details
Instructor: Mamun Hashem
382927
Fee:
$799.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Online
Refund Deadline
No refunds after September 27, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Sep 20, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Sep 27, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Oct 4, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Oct 11, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Oct 18, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Oct 25, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Nov 1, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Nov 8, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Nov 15, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Nov 22, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Nov 29, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
-
Thursday 2:30PM - 6:00PM PT
Enrollment Closed
See Details
Instructor: Christopher Carr
382926
Fee:
$799.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Online
Notes
No meetings November 11 & 25, 2021. 
Refund Deadline
No refunds after September 30, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Sep 23, 2021
2:30PM PT - 6:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Sep 30, 2021
2:30PM PT - 6:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 7, 2021
2:30PM PT - 6:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 14, 2021
2:30PM PT - 6:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 21, 2021
2:30PM PT - 6:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 28, 2021
2:30PM PT - 6:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 4, 2021
2:30PM PT - 6:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 11, 2021
2:30PM PT - 6:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 18, 2021
2:30PM PT - 6:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 25, 2021
2:30PM PT - 6:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Dec 2, 2021
2:30PM PT - 6:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Dec 9, 2021
2:30PM PT - 6:00PM PT
Online
-
Wednesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM PT
Enrollment Closed
See Details
Instructor: David Alvarez
382924
Fee:
$799.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Online
Refund Deadline
No refunds after September 29, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Sep 22, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Sep 29, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 6, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 13, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 20, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 27, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 3, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 10, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 17, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 24, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Dec 1, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
-
Tuesday 6:30PM - 9:30PM PT
Enrollment Closed
See Details
Instructor: Kara Piepmeyer
382941
Fee:
$799.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Online
Refund Deadline
No refunds after September 28, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Sep 21, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Sep 28, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 5, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 12, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 19, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 26, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 2, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 9, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 16, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 23, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 30, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online

Winter 2022 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
This section has no set meeting times.
Future Offering (Opens November 01, 2021 12:00:00 AM)
See Details
Instructor: Lawrence Drasin
384369
Fee:
$799.00
Onlineformat icon
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 12, 2022
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
-
This section has no set meeting times.
Future Offering (Opens November 01, 2021 12:00:00 AM)
See Details
Instructor: Salvatore Leonardi
384367
Fee:
$799.00
Onlineformat icon
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 10, 2022
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
-
Thursday 2:30PM - 5:30PM PT
Future Offering (Opens November 01, 2021 12:00:00 AM)
See Details
Instructor: Christopher Carr
384366
Fee:
$799.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Online
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 13, 2022
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Architectural Graphics by Francis D.K. Ching
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Jan 6, 2022
2:30PM PT - 5:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 13, 2022
2:30PM PT - 5:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 20, 2022
2:30PM PT - 5:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 27, 2022
2:30PM PT - 5:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 3, 2022
2:30PM PT - 5:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 10, 2022
2:30PM PT - 5:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 17, 2022
2:30PM PT - 5:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 24, 2022
2:30PM PT - 5:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 3, 2022
2:30PM PT - 5:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 10, 2022
2:30PM PT - 5:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 17, 2022
2:30PM PT - 5:30PM PT
Online
-
Tuesday 6:30PM - 9:30PM PT
Future Offering (Opens November 01, 2021 12:00:00 AM)
See Details
Instructor: Mamun Hashem
384370
Fee:
$799.00
In-Personformat icon
Location: UCLA Extension Gayley Center in Westwood
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 11, 2022
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Jan 4, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA Extension Gayley Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Gayley Center
Lecture
Tue Jan 11, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA Extension Gayley Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Gayley Center
Lecture
Tue Jan 18, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA Extension Gayley Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Gayley Center
Lecture
Tue Jan 25, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA Extension Gayley Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Gayley Center
Lecture
Tue Feb 1, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA Extension Gayley Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Gayley Center
Lecture
Tue Feb 8, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA Extension Gayley Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Gayley Center
Lecture
Tue Feb 15, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA Extension Gayley Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Gayley Center
Lecture
Tue Feb 22, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA Extension Gayley Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Gayley Center
Lecture
Tue Mar 1, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA Extension Gayley Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Gayley Center
Lecture
Tue Mar 8, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA Extension Gayley Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Gayley Center
Lecture
Tue Mar 15, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA Extension Gayley Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Gayley Center

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Ready to start
your future?
By signing up, you agree to UCLA Extension’s Privacy Policy.

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning