Elements of Design I

ARCH X 454A

This introduction to design fundamentals will help you develop perceptual skills, sensitivity, creative awareness, and the technical ability necessary to handle a variety of design media.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $799.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Learn about color interaction, line, texture, shape, scale, balance, and rhythm
  • Develop perceptual skills, sensitivity, creative awareness, and technical ability
  • Understand organization of elements in the 2-D plane

About this course:

An introduction to design fundamentals, including exercises in figure-ground relationships, color interaction, line, texture, shape, scale, balance, rhythm, emphasis, and organization of elements in the 2D plane, this course develops perceptual skills, sensitivity, creative awareness, and the technical ability necessary to handle a variety of design media. 

Spring 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses meet regularly and are fully online. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Wait List
-
Thursday 7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Tatyana Zhukova
373102
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 09, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Apr 2, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Apr 9, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Apr 16, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Apr 23, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Apr 30, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu May 7, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu May 14, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu May 21, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu May 28, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jun 4, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jun 11, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Wait List
-
This section has no set meeting times.
Instructor: Alvalyn Lundgren
373100
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 05, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Design Basics by David Lauer and Stephen Pentak
Wait List
-
Wednesday 6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Salvatore Leonardi
373135
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

One meeting to be arranged. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 08, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Art Fundamentals: Theory and Practice by Ocvirk, Bone, Stinson, Wigg, and Clayton
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Apr 1, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 8, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 15, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 22, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 29, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 6, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 13, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 20, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 27, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jun 3, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jun 10, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Interior Design

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning