Elements of Design I

ARCH X 454A

This introduction to design fundamentals will help you develop perceptual skills, sensitivity, creative awareness, and the technical ability necessary to handle a variety of design media.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $799.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Learn about color interaction, line, texture, shape, scale, balance, and rhythm
  • Develop perceptual skills, sensitivity, creative awareness, and technical ability
  • Understand organization of elements in the 2-D plane

About this course:

An introduction to design fundamentals, including exercises in figure-ground relationships, color interaction, line, texture, shape, scale, balance, rhythm, emphasis, and organization of elements in the 2D plane, this course develops perceptual skills, sensitivity, creative awareness, and the technical ability necessary to handle a variety of design media. 

Fall 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Wait List
-
Wednesday 7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Location: Online
Instructor: Tatyana Zhukova
376340
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 07, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Sep 30, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 7, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 14, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 21, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 28, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 4, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 11, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 18, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 25, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Wed Dec 2, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Wed Dec 9, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Wed Dec 16, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Wait List
-
Tuesday 7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Location: Online
376382
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 06, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Sep 29, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 6, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 13, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 20, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 27, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 3, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 10, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 17, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 24, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Dec 1, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online
Lecture
Tue Dec 8, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PST
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Interior Design

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning