Fundamentals of Interior Architecture

ARCH X 438

This course offers an introduction to the process of commercial and residential interior design. Learn about the principles of design, the history of design in Los Angeles and Southern California, and more.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote
In-Person
Starting at $635.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Learn about design principles, theory, vocabulary, and psychology
  • Explore the history of design in Los Angeles and Southern California
  • Understand the process of design as practiced in professional offices

About this course:

This course is an introduction to the process of commercial and residential interior design. Lectures and projects introduce students to design theory, principles of design, design vocabulary, design psychology, methods of programming, and the history of design in Los Angeles and Southern California. Students learn about the human element in design, sustainable design, the materials used in interior design, and the process of design as practiced in professional offices. Guest lecturers include some of L.A.'s most distinguished architects and interior designers.

Fall 2021 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Monday 6:30PM - 9:30PM PT
Enrollment Closed
See Details
Instructor: Eleanor Schrader
382813
Fee:
$635.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Online
Notes
No meeting January 17, 2021. No meeting February 21, 2021. One meeting to be arranged.
Refund Deadline
No refunds after September 27, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Interior Design by John F. Pile
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Sep 20, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Sep 27, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Oct 4, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Oct 11, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Oct 18, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Oct 25, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Nov 1, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Nov 8, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Nov 15, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Nov 22, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Nov 29, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online

Winter 2022 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Tuesday 6:30PM - 9:30PM PT
Future Offering (Opens November 01, 2021 12:00:00 AM)
See Details
Instructor: Eleanor Schrader
384319
Fee:
$635.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Online
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 11, 2022
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Interior Design by John F. Pile
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Jan 4, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jan 11, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jan 18, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jan 25, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 1, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 8, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 15, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 22, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Mar 1, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Mar 8, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Mar 15, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
-
Monday 6:30PM - 10:00PM PT
Future Offering (Opens November 01, 2021 12:00:00 AM)
See Details
Instructor: Mark Lewison
384466
Fee:
$635.00
In-Personformat icon
Location: UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
Notes

No meetings January 17; February 21, 2022. One meeting to be arranged.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 10, 2022
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Interior Design by John Pile
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Mon Jan 3, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 204C
Discussion
Mon Jan 10, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 204C
Discussion
Mon Jan 17, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 204C
Discussion
Mon Jan 24, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 204C
Discussion
Mon Jan 31, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 204C
Discussion
Mon Feb 7, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 204C
Discussion
Mon Feb 14, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 204C
Discussion
Mon Feb 21, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 204C
Discussion
Mon Feb 28, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 204C
Discussion
Mon Mar 7, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 204C
Discussion
Mon Mar 14, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 204C

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Ready to start
your future?
By signing up, you agree to UCLA Extension’s Privacy Policy.

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning