History of Environmental Arts: Part I

ARCH X 427.8A

Part one of a four-part survey of environmental arts of the Western world. This course covers the Aegean, Grecian, Roman, early Christian, and Byzantine cultures, encompassing early Medieval, Romanesque, and Gothic periods.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Spring
Remote Instruction
Starting at $799.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Explore the early Medieval, Romanesque, and Gothic periods
  • Identify major monuments and their function, symbolism, style, and significance
  • Learn how to utilize library and museum resources
  • Recognize and evaluate significant environmental design movements

About this course:

Part one of a four-part survey of environmental arts of the Western world. This course covers the architectural and arts history of the Aegean, Greek, Roman, early Christian, and Byzantine cultures, encompassing early Medieval, Romanesque, and Gothic periods. Instruction focuses on the man-built environment as influenced by geographical location, as well as the social, religious, economic, and political forces of each historical period. Topics include major monuments in terms of function, symbolism, methods of fabrication, style, use of color, and ornament, as well as significance. The major artists, architects, and designers of the various periods are also introduced. Illustrated lectures, selected readings, and student projects develop an appreciation of the rich cultural heritage of the Western world, as well as the ability to utilize library and museum resources and recognize and evaluate significant environmental design movements. The course helps participants develop an understanding of the achievements of the past in order to more fully understand the present.

Fall 2021 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Wednesday 6:30PM - 9:30PM PT
Enrollment Closed
See Details
Instructor: Gray Adams
382807
Fee:
$799.00
Remote Instructionformat icon
Location: Online
Notes

No meeting November 24, 2021.

Enrollment limited. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after September 29, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Sep 22, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Sep 29, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 6, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 13, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 20, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 27, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 3, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 10, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 17, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 24, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Dec 1, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Dec 8, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
-
Tuesday 10:00AM - 1:00PM PT
Enrollment Closed
See Details
Instructor: Gray Adams
382806
Fee:
$799.00
Remote Instructionformat icon
Location: Online
Notes

This course is equivalent to Cal Poly Pomona INA 561.

Enrollment limited. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after September 28, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Sep 21, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Sep 28, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 5, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 12, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 19, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 26, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 2, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 9, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 16, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 23, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 30, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Ready to start
your future?
By signing up, you agree to UCLA Extension’s Privacy Policy.

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning