Lighting Design

ARCH X 467.15

This course covers basic lighting topics, including light and texture, color, fixture schedules, switching patterns, and more.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Classroom
Starting at $799.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Understand basic lighting topics
  • Learn about light and texture, color, and switching patterns
  • Prepare required drawings used by designers in residential and commercial spaces

About this course:

This course covers basic lighting topics, including light and texture, light and color, focal lighting, light sources, fixture schedules, switching patterns, and the required drawings used by designers in both residential and commercial spaces. Instruction includes lectures, research, and student projects.
Prerequisites

All courses in the Interior Design Certificate through the fourth quarter (see curriculum sequence) or consent of program advisor.

Spring 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses meet regularly and are fully online. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Wait List
-
Monday 6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Mark Lewison
373113
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

No meeting May 25, 2020.  One meeting to be arranged. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 06, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
The Architecture of Light by Sage Russell
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Mar 30, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Apr 6, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Apr 13, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Apr 20, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Apr 27, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon May 4, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon May 11, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon May 18, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon May 25, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jun 1, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jun 8, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Wait List
-
Tuesday 6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Kathy Pryzgoda
373112
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 07, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
The Architecture of Light by Sage Russell
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Mar 31, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 7, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 14, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 21, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 28, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 5, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 12, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 19, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 26, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jun 2, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jun 9, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online

Available Format(s):

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Canceled
-
Monday 7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Location: UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
Instructor: Nicholas Albert
374243
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after June 29, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
The Architecture of Light by Sage Russell
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Mon Jun 22, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 209
Discussion
Mon Jun 29, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 209
Discussion
Mon Jul 6, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 209
Discussion
Mon Jul 13, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 209
Discussion
Mon Jul 20, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 209
Discussion
Mon Jul 27, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 209
Discussion
Mon Aug 3, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 209
Discussion
Mon Aug 10, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 209
Discussion
Mon Aug 17, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 209
Discussion
Mon Aug 24, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 209
Discussion
Mon Aug 31, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center in Westwood
UCLA Extension Lindbrook Center 209

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Interior Design

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning