Lighting Design

ARCH X 467.15

This course covers basic lighting topics, including light and texture, color, fixture schedules, switching patterns, and more.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $799.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Understand basic lighting topics
  • Learn about light and texture, color, and switching patterns
  • Prepare required drawings used by designers in residential and commercial spaces

About this course:

This course covers basic lighting topics, including light and texture, light and color, focal lighting, light sources, fixture schedules, switching patterns, and the required drawings used by designers in both residential and commercial spaces. Instruction includes lectures, research, and student projects.
Prerequisites

All courses in the Interior Design Certificate through the fourth quarter (see curriculum sequence) or consent of program advisor.

Winter 2021 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Future Offering (Opens November 02, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Monday 6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Mark Lewison
378096
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes
No meetings January 18; February 15. One meeting to be arranged. 
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 11, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
The Architecture of Light by Sage Russell
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Jan 4, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jan 11, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jan 18, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jan 25, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Feb 1, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Feb 8, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Feb 15, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Feb 22, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Mar 1, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Mar 8, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Mar 15, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Future Offering (Opens November 02, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Tuesday 6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Kathy Pryzgoda
378095
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes
No meetings January 18; February 15. One meeting to be arranged. 
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 12, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
The Architecture of Light by Sage Russell
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Jan 5, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jan 12, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jan 19, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jan 26, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 2, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 9, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 16, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 23, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Mar 2, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Mar 9, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Mar 16, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Interior Design

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning