Surface Materials

ARCH X 427.7

This introductory course to surface materials for interior designers covers the selection and use of textiles, wall coverings, hard and soft surfaces, floor coverings, rugs, ceramic and vinyl tile, woods, and plastics.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Classroom
Starting at $799.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Learn how to properly select and use the right surface material for the job
  • Gain first-hand industry knowledge through guest speakers and field trips
  • Understand why certain materials work well with others

About this course:

An introduction to surface materials for interior designers, this course covers the selection and use of textiles, wall coverings, hard and soft surfaces, floor coverings, rugs, ceramic and vinyl tile, woods, and plastics. Instruction includes illustrated lectures, demonstrations, guest speakers, field trips, and research assignments.
Suggested Prerequisites

It is advisable that you complete the following (or equivalent) since they are prerequisites for Surface Materials.

All courses through the third quarter in the Interior Design Certificate (see curriculum sequence).

Winter 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Wait List
-
Thursday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
Instructor: Mark Lewison
370693
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 16, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Materials for Interior Environments by Corky Binggeli
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Thu Jan 9, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu Jan 16, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu Jan 23, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu Jan 30, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu Feb 6, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu Feb 13, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu Feb 20, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu Feb 27, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu Mar 5, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu Mar 12, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu Mar 19, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Available
-
Tuesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
Instructor: Klara Kanai
370692
Fee:
$799.00
49 days left. Enroll by Jan 7, 2020
See Details
Notes

Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 14, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Jan 7, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue Jan 14, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue Jan 21, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue Jan 28, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue Feb 4, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue Feb 11, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue Feb 18, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue Feb 25, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue Mar 3, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue Mar 10, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue Mar 17, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313

Available Format(s):

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Available
-
Tuesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
Instructor: Klara Kanai
373090
Fee:
$799.00
58 days left. Enroll by Jan 16, 2020
See Details
Notes

Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 07, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Mar 31, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 214
Discussion
Tue Apr 7, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 214
Discussion
Tue Apr 14, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 214
Discussion
Tue Apr 21, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 214
Discussion
Tue Apr 28, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 214
Discussion
Tue May 5, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 214
Discussion
Tue May 12, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 214
Discussion
Tue May 19, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 214
Discussion
Tue May 26, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 214
Discussion
Tue Jun 2, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 214
Discussion
Tue Jun 9, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 214
Available
-
Monday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
Instructor: Tatyana Zhukova
373089
Fee:
$799.00
60 days left. Enroll by Jan 18, 2020
See Details
Notes

Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 06, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Materials for Interior Environments by Corky Binggeli
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Mon Mar 30, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 317
Discussion
Mon Apr 6, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 317
Discussion
Mon Apr 13, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 317
Discussion
Mon Apr 20, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 317
Discussion
Mon Apr 27, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 317
Discussion
Mon May 4, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 317
Discussion
Mon May 11, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 317
Discussion
Mon May 18, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 317
Discussion
Mon May 25, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 317
Discussion
Mon Jun 1, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 317
Discussion
Mon Jun 8, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 317

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Interior Design

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning