HVAC Design Fundamentals

MECH&AE X 424.7

In this course, students learn the basic engineering calculations and design rules of air conditioning systems.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Winter
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $999.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0
3.3

What you can learn.

  • Describe an overview of HVAC design and operations essentials
  • Calculate the building cooling, heating, and ventilation loads
  • Choose a proper solution for meeting building demands
  • Design the layout of HVAC equipment and ductwork
  • Describe HVAC operation and control systems
  • Recognize advances in the HVAC industry and implement new technologies

About this course:

In this course, students learn the basic engineering calculations and design rules of air conditioning systems. Available tools and software to design the HVAC system for a commercial building are introduced and used. The design adheres to California codes and regulations, and the goal is for students to learn the steps needed for designing a sample project.
Prerequisites
High school math including algebra, geometry, and calculus. High school physics including thermal energy and units conversion.

Fall 2021 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Thursday 6:00PM - 9:00PM PT
Available
See Details
Instructor: Amir Saadat
382674
Fee:
$999.00
Remote Instructionformat icon
Location: Online
ENROLL BY: Sep 23, 2021
See Details
Notes

No meetings November 11 & 25, 2021. Two meetings to be arranged.

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Visitors not permitted.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 07, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to access course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Sep 23, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Sep 30, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 7, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 14, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 21, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 28, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 4, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 11, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 18, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 25, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Dec 2, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online

Winter 2022 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Thursday 6:00PM - 9:00PM PT
Available
See Details
Instructor: Amir Saadat
383752
Fee:
$999.00
Remote Instructionformat icon
Location: Online
ENROLL BY: Jan 6, 2022
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Visitors not permitted.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after December 23, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to access course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Jan 6, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 13, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 20, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 27, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 3, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 10, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 17, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 24, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 3, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 10, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 17, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Our team members are here to help. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Ready to start
your future?
By signing up, you agree to UCLA Extension’s Privacy Policy.

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning