HVAC Design Fundamentals

MECH&AE X 424.7

In this course, students learn the basic engineering calculations and design rules of air conditioning systems.    

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Live Online
Starting at $1,050.00
As few as 12 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Describe an overview of HVAC design and operations essentials
  • Calculate the building cooling, heating, and ventilation loads
  • Choose a proper solution for meeting building demands
  • Design the layout of HVAC equipment and ductwork
  • Describe HVAC operation and control systems
  • Recognize advances in the HVAC industry and implement new technologies

About this course:

In this course, students learn the basic engineering calculations and design rules of air conditioning systems. Available tools and software to design the HVAC system for a commercial building are introduced and used. The design rules taught in this course adhere to California codes and regulations, and the goal is for students to learn the steps needed for designing a sample project.
Prerequisites
High school math including algebra, geometry and calculus. High school physics including thermal energy and units conversion.

Summer 2024 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Thursday 6:00PM - 9:00PM PT
Canceled
See Details
Instructor: Amir Saadat
398530
Fee:
$1,050.00
Live Onlineformat icon
Location: Remote Classroom
Notes

No meeting July 4, 2024.

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Enrollment deadline: June 23, 2024.

Refund Deadline
Refunds only available from April 29, 2024 to June 30, 2024
Course Requirements
Internet access required to access course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Jun 27, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Jul 11, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Jul 18, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Jul 25, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Aug 1, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Aug 8, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Aug 15, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Aug 22, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Aug 29, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Sep 5, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Sep 12, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom

Fall 2024 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Thursday 6:00PM - 9:00PM PT
Future Offering (Opens July 29, 2024 12:00:00 AM)
See Details
Instructor: Amir Saadat
399907
Fee:
$1,050.00
Live Onlineformat icon
Location: Remote Classroom
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Enrollment deadline: Sep. 22

Refund Deadline
Refunds only available from July 29, 2024 to September 29, 2024
Course Requirements
Internet access required to access course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Sep 26, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Oct 3, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Oct 10, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Oct 17, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Oct 24, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Oct 31, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Nov 7, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Nov 14, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Nov 21, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Nov 28, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Dec 5, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Dec 12, 2024
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom

Contact Us

Our team members are here to help. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Ready to start
your future?
By signing up, you agree to UCLA Extension’s Privacy Policy.

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Lifelong Learning

See More