Fundamentals of Construction Management

C&EE X 407.1

Learn the basic principles and responsibilities of the construction management team and general contractor for commercial, civil and residential construction projects.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Online
Starting at $999.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0
3.3

What you can learn.

  • Define roles and responsibilities of the project management team
  • Identify how the teams’ roles change with each phase of the build
  • Compare project delivery methods
  • Describe types of contracts, project administration, labor relations and safety
  • Perform general contractor duties including estimating, scheduling and cost control

About this course:

This course covers the basic principles and responsibilities in construction management, including interface requirements between real estate, leasing, legal, feasibility, finance, lending, marketing, accounting, and public agencies; defining and controlling the scope of a project; and functions of the construction manager: planning, organizing, staffing, directing, and managing the other team members. Other topics include management principles, estimating, scheduling, budgeting, purchasing, design, safety, insurance, construction techniques, labor, and public relations.

Summer 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses are fully online and have no regular meeting times.

Enrollment Closed
-
This section has no set meeting times.
Instructor: Diego Ramirez
373933
Fee:
$999.00
See Details
Notes
Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised.
Refund Deadline
No refunds after July 06, 2020
Course Requirements
Book: Project Management in Construction by Sidney M. Levy
Internet access required to access course materials.

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Canceled
-
Thursday 6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Amir Zavichi Tork
373931
Fee:
$999.00
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after July 09, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to access course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Thu Jun 25, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Jul 2, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Jul 9, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Jul 16, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Jul 23, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Jul 30, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Aug 6, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Aug 13, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Aug 20, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Aug 27, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Sep 3, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online

Available Format(s):

These courses are fully online and have no regular meeting times.

Future Offering (Opens August 03, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
This section has no set meeting times.
Instructor: Diego Ramirez
375297
Fee:
$999.00
See Details
Notes
Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised.
Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 12, 2020
Course Requirements
Book: Project Management in Construction by Sidney M. Levy
Internet access required to access course materials.

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Future Offering (Opens August 03, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Thursday 6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Location: Online
Instructor: Amir Zavichi Tork
375291
Fee:
$999.00
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 15, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to access course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Thu Oct 1, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Oct 8, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Oct 15, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Oct 22, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Oct 29, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Nov 5, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Nov 12, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Nov 19, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Nov 26, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Dec 3, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Dec 10, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Future Offering (Opens August 03, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Wednesday 6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Location: Virtual Classroom
Instructor: Salih Eroglu
375296
Fee:
$999.00
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 14, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to access course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Sep 30, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Virtual Classroom
Lecture
Wed Oct 7, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Virtual Classroom
Lecture
Wed Oct 14, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Virtual Classroom
Lecture
Wed Oct 21, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Virtual Classroom
Lecture
Wed Oct 28, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Virtual Classroom
Lecture
Wed Nov 4, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Virtual Classroom
Lecture
Wed Nov 11, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Virtual Classroom
Lecture
Wed Nov 18, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Virtual Classroom
Lecture
Wed Nov 25, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Virtual Classroom
Lecture
Wed Dec 2, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Virtual Classroom
Lecture
Wed Dec 9, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Virtual Classroom

Contact Us

Our team members are here to help. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Civil & Environmental Engineering

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning