Acting Techniques: The Fundamentals

THEATER X 407.5

Understand the basic fundamentals of acting including the physical and mental preparation that enable you to successfully perform exercises and group work.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $699.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Understand fundamental performance techniques such as relaxation, concentration, and emotional recall
  • Delve into material through character tasks and text analysis
  • Rehearse and perform monologues and two-character scenes

About this course:

In this introduction to acting, learn fundamental performance techniques and exercises, including relaxation, concentration, sense memory, emotional recall, improvisation, character tasks, and text analysis. You then apply these techniques by rehearsing and performing monologues and two-character scenes. In-class partner work and weekly assignments are required.

Summer 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Enrollment Closed
-
Wednesday 7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Lisa Chess
374484
Fee:
$699.00
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after June 28, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Jun 24, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jul 1, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jul 8, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jul 15, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jul 22, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jul 29, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Aug 5, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Aug 12, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Aug 19, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Aug 26, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Sep 2, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Canceled
-
Monday 7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Toni Attell
374806
Fee:
$699.00
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after June 26, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Jun 22, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jun 29, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jul 6, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jul 13, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jul 20, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jul 27, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 3, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 10, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 17, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 24, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 31, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Film & TV

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning