Acting Techniques: The Fundamentals

THEATER X 407.5

Understand the basic fundamentals of acting including the physical and mental preparation that enable you to successfully perform exercises and group work.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $699.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Understand fundamental performance techniques such as relaxation, concentration, and emotional recall
  • Delve into material through character tasks and text analysis
  • Rehearse and perform monologues and two-character scenes

About this course:

In this introduction to acting, learn fundamental performance techniques and exercises, including relaxation, concentration, sense memory, emotional recall, improvisation, character tasks, and text analysis. You then apply these techniques by rehearsing and performing monologues and two-character scenes. In-class partner work and weekly assignments are required.

Fall 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Available
-
Tuesday 7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Toni Attell
376069
Fee:
$699.00
10 days left. Enroll by Sep 29, 2020
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 03, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Sep 29, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 6, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 13, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 20, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 27, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 3, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 10, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 17, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 24, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Dec 1, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Dec 8, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Available
-
Wednesday, Saturday
Location: Online
Instructor: Lisa Chess
376072
Fee:
$699.00
11 days left. Enroll by Sep 30, 2020
See Details
Notes

No meeting November 11, 2020. Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 04, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Sep 30, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 7, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 14, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 21, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Sat Oct 24, 2020
2:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 28, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 4, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 11, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 18, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 25, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Dec 2, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Dec 9, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Film & TV

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning