Directing Actors for the Screen

FILM TV X 475.44

Learn to recognize and apply the directorial skills for a successful artistic collaboration with performers. You will select one dramatic and one comic scene then cast, rehearse, and present the scenes in class.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $699.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Learn how to analyze a script
  • Understand the Method approach to acting, defining objectives, creating dramatic conflict, and the elements of characterization
  • Gain experience auditioning actors for class scenes

About this course:

If directors are the architects of film, then actors are the artisans of a collaborative team working together to realize a singular vision. Through discussions, exercises, casting sessions, and the presentation of scenes, you analyze and apply the directorial skills required for a successful artistic collaboration with performers. You select one dramatic and one comic scene, then cast, rehearse, and present the scenes in class. Topics include analyzing the script, the Method approach to acting, defining objectives, creating dramatic conflict, and the elements of characterization. Actors for class scenes are selected during in-class auditions, and final scenes are performed on camera.

Fall 2021 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Tuesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM PT
Wait List
See Details
Instructor: Julian Goldberger
382876
Fee:
$699.00
Remote Instructionformat icon
Location: Online
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 04, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Sep 21, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Sep 28, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 5, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 12, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 19, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 26, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 2, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 9, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 16, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 23, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 30, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
-
Wednesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM PT
Available
See Details
Instructor: Tim Arvin
384572
Fee:
$699.00
Remote Instructionformat icon
Location: Online
ENROLL BY: Sep 22, 2021
See Details
Notes

No meeting November 24, 2021.

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 05, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Sep 22, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Sep 29, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 6, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 13, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 20, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 27, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 3, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 10, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 17, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Dec 1, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Dec 8, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Ready to start
your future?
By signing up, you agree to UCLA Extension’s Privacy Policy.

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning