Master Class in Creative Nonfiction Writing

WRITING X 421.4

Review and reimagine your creative nonfiction book manuscript in this three-quarter course for students revising their work toward finding and agent and submitting to publishers.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Remote Instruction
Starting at $3,860.00
As few as 35 weeks
9.0

What you can learn.

  • Review the elements of craft that make for powerful creative nonfiction
  • Discover how to weave universal themes into your next draft
  • Listen to guest speakers guide you through writing, revising, and publishing
  • Get feedback on your manuscript and query from an established agent in the field

About this course:

Designed for writers serious about revising their draft memoirs and personal essay collections into polished works for publication, this 30-week course allows for in-depth critiques from a community of nonfiction writers, personalized guidance, and ongoing, one-on-one mentoring from a professional writer. In a challenging but supportive workshop environment, you will study the advanced elements of craft such as capturing memorable moments, developing a narrative structure, braiding your story with larger universal themes, and the art of revision. Guest speakers share their insights on writing, publishing, and the nonfiction market as you shape your next draft and prepare a professional book proposal. Master Class students' excerpts are submitted to an established agent for review and consideration at the completion of the course.  Participants may withdraw their application any time before acceptance. A submission of a complete memoir manuscript or collection of essays and a $10 nonrefundable application fee are required.

Fall 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Enrollment Closed
-
Tuesday 10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Barbara Abercrombie
376147
Fee:
$3,860.00
See Details
Notes

No meetings November 24; December 22 & 29, 2020; January 5; March 23, 2021.

Deadline for application is August 31, 2020 at 9 am (PST) and there is a $10 non-refundable application fee. Restricted course; approval needed to enroll. Not eligible for any discounts. Enrollment limited to eight students. Visitors not permitted. No refund after enrolling.

Submission Guidelines for Master Class in Creative Nonfiction Writing
Please submit the following materials (Word Document or PDF only): a one-page personal statement that includes your writing background, previous creative writing courses taken, a two-page synopsis of your work-in-progress, and the completed first draft of your creative nonfiction manuscript (either a memoir or personal essay collection). (Note: participants in this master class work only on the project submitted for admission. No exceptions. Each page should be numbered, typed in 12-point Times New Roman font, and double spaced with 1-inch margins.)

This course uses remote instruction. As such, instructors use Zoom to offer live class meetings at the designated class meeting time. Students must be present at course meeting times as each student’s final grade may include scores for participation.

Please inform your instructor if you will miss a class meeting. You are responsible for any class information you missed. We suggest you arrange with a fellow classmate to share their notes when feasible.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after September 06, 2020
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Oct 6, 2020
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Oct 13, 2020
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Oct 20, 2020
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Oct 27, 2020
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Nov 3, 2020
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Nov 10, 2020
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Nov 17, 2020
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Dec 1, 2020
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Dec 8, 2020
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Dec 15, 2020
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Jan 12, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Jan 19, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Jan 26, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Feb 2, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Feb 9, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Feb 16, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Feb 23, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Mar 2, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Mar 9, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Mar 16, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Mar 30, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Apr 6, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Apr 13, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Apr 20, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Apr 27, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue May 4, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue May 11, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue May 18, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue May 25, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Jun 1, 2021
10:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Creative Writing

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning