Color Theory and Application

ARCH X 452.1

This course covers the study of the perception of color, its permutations, and its dimensions, using traditional as well as contemporary methods.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $799.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Learn about the color wheel and the applications of color theories to interior design
  • Gain an understanding of Munsell and Albers theories, perception, symbolism, and psychology
  • Understand and develop pattern-painting techniques
  • Explore theories with a hands-on experience in a variety of media

About this course:

This course covers the study of the perception of color, its permutations, and its dimensions using traditional as well as contemporary methods with an emphasis on individual experimentation through lab exercises and demonstrations. Topics include the color wheel; Munsell and Albers theories; perception, symbolism, and psychology; pattern-painting techniques; and the applications of color theories to art, architecture, and interior design. Student projects and lectures combine intense exploration of theories with hands-on experience in a variety of media.
Prerequisites

ARCH X 454A Elements of Design I or consent of program advisor.

Winter 2021 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Future Offering (Opens November 02, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Thursday 6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Edward Varias
378084
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 14, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Jan 7, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 14, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 21, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 28, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 4, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 11, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 18, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 25, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 4, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 11, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 18, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Future Offering (Opens November 02, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Wednesday 6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Edward Varias
378083
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

No meetings January 18; February 15. One meeting to be arranged. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 13, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Jan 6, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jan 13, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jan 20, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jan 27, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Feb 3, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Feb 10, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Feb 17, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Feb 24, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Mar 3, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Mar 10, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Mar 17, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Future Offering (Opens November 02, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Tuesday 6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Tiffany Sands
378082
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 12, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Contemporary Color Theory and Use by Steven Bleicher
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Jan 5, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jan 12, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jan 19, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jan 26, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 2, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 9, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 16, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 23, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Mar 2, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Mar 9, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Mar 16, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Interior Design

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning