Color Theory and Application

ARCH X 452.1

This course covers the study of the perception of color, its permutations, and its dimensions, using traditional as well as contemporary methods.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Classroom
Starting at $799.00
As few as 10 weeks
4.0

About this course:

This course covers the study of the perception of color, its permutations, and its dimensions, using traditional as well as contemporary methods and emphasizing individual experimentation through lab exercises and demonstrations. Topics include the color wheel; Munsell and Albers theories; perception, symbolism, and psychology; pattern-painting techniques; and the applications of color theories to art, architecture, and interior design. Student projects and lectures combine intense exploration of theories with hands-on experience in a variety of media.
Suggested Prerequisites

It is advisable that you complete the following (or equivalent) since they are prerequisites for Color Theory and Application.

ARCH X 454A Elements of Design I or consent of program advisor.

Winter 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Wait List
-
Monday 6:30PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
Instructor: Edward Varias
370871
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

No meetings January 20; February 17, 2020. One meeting to be arranged. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 13, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Mon Jan 6, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Mon Jan 13, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Mon Jan 20, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Mon Jan 27, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Mon Feb 3, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Mon Feb 10, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Mon Feb 17, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Mon Feb 24, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Mon Mar 2, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Mon Mar 9, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Mon Mar 16, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Wait List
-
Tuesday 6:30PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
Instructor: Tiffany Sands
370869
Fee:
$799.00
See Details
Notes

Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 14, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Contemporary Color: Theory and Use by Steven Bleicher
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Jan 7, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 321
Discussion
Tue Jan 14, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 321
Discussion
Tue Jan 21, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 321
Discussion
Tue Jan 28, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 321
Discussion
Tue Feb 4, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 321
Discussion
Tue Feb 11, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 321
Discussion
Tue Feb 18, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 321
Discussion
Tue Feb 25, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 321
Discussion
Tue Mar 3, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 321
Discussion
Tue Mar 10, 2020
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 321

Available Format(s):

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Available
-
Thursday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
373099
Fee:
$799.00
58 days left. Enroll by Jan 16, 2020
See Details
Notes

Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 09, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Contemporary Color: Theory and Use by Steven Bleicher
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Thu Apr 2, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu Apr 9, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu Apr 16, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu Apr 23, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu Apr 30, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu May 7, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu May 14, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu May 21, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu May 28, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu Jun 4, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Thu Jun 11, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Available
-
Tuesday 6:30PM - 9:30PM
Location: UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
Instructor: Edward Varias
373097
Fee:
$799.00
57 days left. Enroll by Jan 15, 2020
See Details
Notes

Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 07, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Mar 31, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue Apr 7, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue Apr 14, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue Apr 21, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue Apr 28, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue May 5, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue May 12, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue May 19, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue May 26, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue Jun 2, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313
Discussion
Tue Jun 9, 2020
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 313

What you will learn.

  • Learn about the color wheel and the applications of color theories to interior design
  • Gain an understanding of Munsell and Albers theories, perception, symbolism, and psychology
  • Understand and develop pattern-painting techniques
  • Explore theories with a hands-on experience in a variety of media

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Interior Design

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning