Design Fundamentals

DESMA X 479.6A
A hands-on introduction to the creative process and core elements of successful graphic design.
READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Classroom
Online
Starting at $759.00
As few as 10 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Gain the fundamental knowledge and strategy to solve any visual design problem
  • Create impactful, clear compositions with intention and understanding of the major design principles
  • Understand targeted research, design thinking, and knowledge of the principles and components of graphic design
  • Use the industry-standard method and language for discussing, analyzing, and critiquing compositions

About this course:

This is a hands-on introduction to the creative process and core elements of graphic design for a variety of outputs, including print and electronic media. Topics include research, typography, imagery, and concept development. Projects are progressive and critiqued.

Summer 2019 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses are fully online, and there are no in-person classroom meetings.

Enrollment Closed
-
Instructor: Michelle Constantine
368297
Fee:
$784.00
See Details
Notes

Fee does not include cost of art supplies.

Enrollment limited. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after June 30, 2019
Course Requirements

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Enrollment Closed
-
Monday 6:30PM - 10:00PM
Instructor: Michelle Constantine
368208
Fee:
$759.00
See Details
Notes

Fee does not include cost of art supplies.

Enrollment limited. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after July 01, 2019
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Mon Jun 24, 2019
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Mon Jul 1, 2019
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Mon Jul 8, 2019
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Mon Jul 15, 2019
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Mon Jul 22, 2019
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Mon Jul 29, 2019
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Mon Aug 5, 2019
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Mon Aug 12, 2019
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Mon Aug 19, 2019
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Mon Aug 26, 2019
6:30PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Enrollment Closed
-
Wednesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Instructor: Harsh Patel
368225
Fee:
$759.00
See Details
Notes

Fee does not include cost of art supplies.

Enrollment limited. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after July 03, 2019
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Wed Jun 26, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Wed Jul 3, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Wed Jul 10, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Wed Jul 17, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Wed Jul 24, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Wed Jul 31, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Wed Aug 7, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Wed Aug 14, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Wed Aug 21, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Wed Aug 28, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Wed Sep 4, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415

Available Format(s):

These courses are fully online, and there are no in-person classroom meetings.

Future Offering (Opens July 29, 2019 12:00:00 AM)
-
Instructor: Michelle Constantine
369849
Fee:
$784.00
See Details
Notes

Fee does not include cost of art supplies.

Enrollment limited. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after September 28, 2019
Course Requirements

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Future Offering (Opens July 29, 2019 12:00:00 AM)
-
Tuesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Instructor: Henry Mateo
369841
Fee:
$759.00
See Details
Notes

Fee does not include cost of art supplies.

Enrollment limited. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 01, 2019
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Sep 24, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Tue Oct 1, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Tue Oct 8, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Tue Oct 15, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Tue Oct 22, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Tue Oct 29, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Tue Nov 5, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Tue Nov 12, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Tue Nov 19, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Tue Nov 26, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Discussion
Tue Dec 3, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 407
Future Offering (Opens July 29, 2019 12:00:00 AM)
-
Thursday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Instructor: "Jag" Jeff Aguila
369856
Fee:
$759.00
See Details
Notes

No meeting November 28.

Fee does not include cost of art supplies.

Enrollment limited. 

 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 03, 2019
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Thu Sep 26, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Thu Oct 3, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Thu Oct 10, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Thu Oct 17, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Thu Oct 24, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Thu Oct 31, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Thu Nov 7, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Thu Nov 14, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Thu Nov 21, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Thu Nov 28, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Thu Dec 5, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415
Discussion
Thu Dec 12, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood
UCLA Extension 1010 Westwood 415

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in UX/Graphic Design

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning