Practical Training for Fitness Instructors

COM HLT X 451.1

This course is designed for training personal fitness and/or group exercise leaders as they gain practical experience with exercise instruction to various populations.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Classroom
Starting at $705.00
As few as 32 weeks
14.0

What you can learn.

  • Explore how to execute various exercises using a variety of equipment
  • Observe and shadow trainers and fitness instructors
  • Practice teaching exercise to others while receiving feedback in a safe, supportive environment

About this course:

Bring your knowledge of anatomy and biomechanics to life by learning the basic equation for all exercise instruction, keys to effective exercise demonstration, the art of various cueing techniques, safety and precision of fitness-testing administration, and fundamentals of exercise progression. Gain practical exercise instruction experience while you practice these skills in a safe, supportive environment with the opportunity for feedback. This course trains you to be a personal fitness trainer and/or group exercise leader who works with mainstream populations and addresses training special populations. Learn, practice, and receive feedback in the execution of various exercises using a variety of equipment. Exercise genres covered include selectorized equipment, cable equipment, free weights, body weight exercises, basic powerlifting techniques, kettlebells, plyometrics and sports conditioning, basic mat Pilates and core training, popular cardio machines, walking, running, stretching/flexibility, and other small equipment (medicine balls, foam rollers, Dyna Discs, gliding discs, Bosu balls, stability balls, tubing and resistance bands, etc.). Improve your form for better exercise demonstration when teaching. Participants observe and shadow trainers and fitness instructors, then teach others in a supervised setting with the opportunity for feedback. Wednesday lectures cover concept review and test prep. Friday classes are for practical training and concepts. This course is 3 quarters in length and UCLA Extension students will be taking the course alongside UCLA students.

Fall 2021 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Wednesday, Friday
Available
See Details
Instructor: Elisa Terry
382125
Fee:
$705.00
Classroomformat icon
Location: UCLA
ENROLL BY: Oct 27, 2021
See Details
Notes

No meeting November 26, 2021.

Meets Fall through Spring Quarter. Enrollment/class participation contingent on signing a liability waiver. Two full elective credits in Fitness Instruction Certificate.

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: October 29, 2021. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after November 02, 2021
Course Requirements
Book: NSCA's Essentials of Personal Training by Coburn, Jared W., Malek Moh H., National Strength and Conditioning Association Staff
(Optional) Book: Exercise Technique Manual
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Oct 27, 2021
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Oct 29, 2021
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Nov 3, 2021
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Nov 5, 2021
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Nov 10, 2021
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Nov 12, 2021
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Nov 17, 2021
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Nov 19, 2021
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Nov 24, 2021
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Nov 26, 2021
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Dec 1, 2021
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Dec 3, 2021
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Dec 8, 2021
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Dec 10, 2021
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Jan 5, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Jan 7, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Jan 12, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Jan 14, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Jan 19, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Jan 21, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Jan 26, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Jan 28, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Feb 2, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Feb 4, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Feb 9, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Feb 11, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Feb 16, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Feb 18, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Feb 23, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Feb 25, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Mar 2, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Mar 4, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Mar 9, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Mar 11, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Mar 30, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Apr 1, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Apr 6, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Apr 8, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Apr 13, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Apr 15, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Apr 20, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Apr 22, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Apr 27, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Apr 29, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed May 4, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri May 6, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed May 11, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri May 13, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed May 18, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri May 20, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed May 25, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri May 27, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Wed Jun 1, 2022
7:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center
Lecture
Fri Jun 3, 2022
3:00PM PT - 5:00PM PT
UCLA
John Wooden Center

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Ready to start
your future?
By signing up, you agree to UCLA Extension’s Privacy Policy.

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning