Cell and Molecular Biology

LIFESCI XL 7A

This first course in the pre-medical life science sequence provides an introduction to cell biology, biochemistry, and molecular biology.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Classroom
Starting at $1,010.00
As few as 12 weeks
5.0

What you can learn.

  • Understand basic concepts of chemistry in analyzing biological molecules and cells
  • Evaluate nucleic acids as related to DNA and RNA
  • Recognize different kinds of DNA mutation and damage

About this course:

Introduction to basic principles of cell structure and cell biology, biochemistry, and molecular biology. P/NP or letter grading. Transferable for UC credit.

Fall 2021 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Tuesday, Thursday
Available
See Details
Instructor: Miguel-Angel Gutierrez
382166
Fee:
$1,010.00
Remote Instructionformat icon
Location: Online
ENROLL BY: Sep 21, 2021
See Details
Notes

No meeting November 11,  23 & 25, 2021

Lecture only. The textbook will be used throughout LIFESCI XL 7A, 7B, and 7C. 

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: September 24, 2021.  Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after September 28, 2021
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Sep 21, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Sep 23, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Sep 28, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Sep 30, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 5, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Oct 7, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 12, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Oct 14, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 19, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Oct 21, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 26, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Oct 28, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 2, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Nov 4, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 9, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 16, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Nov 18, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 30, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Dec 2, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Dec 7, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
-
Monday, Wednesday
Available
See Details
Instructor: Frances Tran
383444
Fee:
$1,010.00
Remote Instructionformat icon
Location: Online
ENROLL BY: Sep 20, 2021
See Details
Notes

No meetings November 22 & 24, 2021.

Lecture only. The textbook will be used throughout LIFESCI XL 7A, 7B, and 7C. 

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: September 24, 2021. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after September 27, 2021
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Sep 20, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Sep 22, 2021
6:00PM PT - 7:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Sep 27, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Sep 29, 2021
6:00PM PT - 7:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Oct 4, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Oct 6, 2021
6:00PM PT - 7:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Oct 11, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Oct 13, 2021
6:00PM PT - 7:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Oct 18, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Oct 20, 2021
6:00PM PT - 7:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Oct 25, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Oct 27, 2021
6:00PM PT - 7:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Nov 1, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Nov 3, 2021
6:00PM PT - 7:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Nov 8, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Nov 10, 2021
6:00PM PT - 7:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Nov 15, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Nov 17, 2021
6:00PM PT - 7:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Nov 29, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Dec 1, 2021
6:00PM PT - 7:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Dec 6, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
-
Monday, Wednesday
Available
See Details
Instructor: Yao Wang
382167
Fee:
$1,010.00
Classroomformat icon
Location: UCLA
ENROLL BY: Sep 20, 2021
See Details
Notes

No meetings November 22 & 24, 2021.

Lecture only. The textbook and iClicker will be used throughout LIFESCI XL 7A, 7B, and 7C. Students can purchase either iClicker 2 or iClicker + for this course. iClickers will only be used for in-person sections. 

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: September 24, 2021. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after September 27, 2021
Course Requirements
I - CLICKER 2 (NEW COPIES INCLD REEF MOBILE 6MO ACCESS)
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Sep 20, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Discussion
Wed Sep 22, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Lecture
Mon Sep 27, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Discussion
Wed Sep 29, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Lecture
Mon Oct 4, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Discussion
Wed Oct 6, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Lecture
Mon Oct 11, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Discussion
Wed Oct 13, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Lecture
Mon Oct 18, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Discussion
Wed Oct 20, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Lecture
Mon Oct 25, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 5200
Discussion
Wed Oct 27, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Lecture
Mon Nov 1, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Discussion
Wed Nov 3, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Lecture
Mon Nov 8, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Discussion
Wed Nov 10, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Lecture
Mon Nov 15, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Discussion
Wed Nov 17, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Lecture
Mon Nov 29, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Discussion
Wed Dec 1, 2021
6:30PM PT - 7:45PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A
Lecture
Mon Dec 6, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Math Sciences 4000A

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Sciences

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning