Genetics, Evolution, and Ecology

LIFESCI XL 7B

This second course in the pre-medical life science sequence provides an introduction to principles of evolution, Mendelian inheritance, and population genetics.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $1,010.00
As few as 11 weeks
5.0

What you can learn.

  • Understand the gene and environment interactions and the process of chromosomal inheritance
  • Evaluate the contribution of evolution, ecology, and global changes to conservation strategies
  • Recognize species formation through evolutionary mechanisms and interactions

About this course:

Principles of Mendelian inheritance and population genetics. Introduction to principles and mechanisms of evolution by natural selection, population, behavioral and community ecology, and biodiversity, including major taxa and their evolutionary, ecological, and physiological relationships. Letter grading.
Prerequisites
LIFESCI XL 7A Cell and Molecular Biology

Summer 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Enrollment Closed
-
Tuesday, Thursday
Location: Online
Instructor: Jana Johnson
374992
Fee:
$1,010.00
See Details
Notes

Lecture only. The textbook and iClicker will be used throughout LIFESCI XL 7A, 7B, and 7C. Students can purchase iClicker 2 for this course. 

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: June 26, 2020. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after June 30, 2020
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Jun 23, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Jun 25, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jun 30, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Jul 2, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jul 7, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Jul 9, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jul 14, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Jul 16, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jul 21, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Jul 23, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jul 28, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Jul 30, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Aug 4, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Aug 6, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Aug 11, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Aug 13, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Aug 18, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Aug 20, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Aug 25, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Aug 27, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Sep 1, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Enrollment Closed
-
Monday, Wednesday
Location: Online
Instructor: Jana Johnson
375114
Fee:
$1,010.00
See Details
Notes

No meeting May 25.

Lecture only. The textbook and iClicker will be used throughout LIFESCI XL 7A, 7B, and 7C. Students can purchase either iClicker 2 for this course. 

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: June 26, 2020. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after June 29, 2020
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Jun 22, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Wed Jun 24, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jun 29, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Wed Jul 1, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jul 6, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Wed Jul 8, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jul 13, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Wed Jul 15, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jul 20, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Wed Jul 22, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jul 27, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Wed Jul 29, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 3, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Wed Aug 5, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 10, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Wed Aug 12, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 17, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Wed Aug 19, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 24, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Wed Aug 26, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 31, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Sciences

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning