Genetics, Evolution, and Ecology

LIFESCI XL 7B
This second course in the pre-medical life science sequence provides an introduction to principles of evolution, Mendelian inheritance, and population genetics.
READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Classroom
Starting at $1,000.00
As few as 11 weeks
5.0 Credits

What you can learn.

  • Understand the gene and environment interactions and the process of chromosomal inheritance
  • Evaluate the contribution of evolution, ecology, and global changes to conservation strategies
  • Recognize species formation through evolutionary mechanisms and interactions

About this course:

Principles of Mendelian inheritance and population genetics. Introduction to principles and mechanisms of evolution by natural selection, population, behavioral, and community ecology, and biodiversity, including major taxa and their evolutionary, ecological, and physiological relationships. Letter grading. Transferable for UC credit.
Suggested Prerequisites

It is advisable that you complete the following (or equivalent) since they are prerequisites for Genetics, Evolution, and Ecology.

LIFESCI XL 7A - Cell and Molecular Biology

Winter 2019 Schedule

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Available
-
Tuesday, Thursday
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Jana Johnson
364641
Fee:
$1,000.00
51 days left. Enroll by Jan 8, 2019
See Details
Notes

Lecture only. The textbook and iClicker will be used throughout LIFESCI XL 7A, 7B, and 7C. Students can purchase either iClicker 2 or iClicker + for this course. Class limited to 40 students.

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: January 10, 2019. Internet access required. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 15, 2019
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Jan 8, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Discussion
Thu Jan 10, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue Jan 15, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Discussion
Thu Jan 17, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue Jan 22, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Discussion
Thu Jan 24, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue Jan 29, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Discussion
Thu Jan 31, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue Feb 5, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Discussion
Thu Feb 7, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue Feb 12, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Discussion
Thu Feb 14, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue Feb 19, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Discussion
Thu Feb 21, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue Feb 26, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Discussion
Thu Feb 28, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue Mar 5, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Discussion
Thu Mar 7, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue Mar 12, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Discussion
Thu Mar 14, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue Mar 19, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Available
-
Monday, Wednesday
Instructor: Jana Johnson
364649
Fee:
$1,000.00
50 days left. Enroll by Jan 7, 2019
See Details
Notes

Lecture only. The textbook and iClicker will be used throughout LIFESCI XL 7A, 7B, and 7C. Students can purchase either iClicker 2 or iClicker + for this course. Class limited to 40 students.

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: January 19, 2019. Internet access required. No meeting on 1/21/19 and 2/18/19

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 14, 2019
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Jan 7, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed Jan 9, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon Jan 14, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed Jan 16, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon Jan 21, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed Jan 23, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon Jan 28, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed Jan 30, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon Feb 4, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed Feb 6, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon Feb 11, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed Feb 13, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon Feb 18, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed Feb 20, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon Feb 25, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed Feb 27, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon Mar 4, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed Mar 6, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon Mar 11, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed Mar 13, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon Mar 18, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Sciences

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning