Genetics, Evolution, and Ecology

LIFESCI XL 7B
This second course in the pre-medical life science sequence provides an introduction to principles of evolution, Mendelian inheritance, and population genetics.
READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Classroom
Starting at $1,000.00
As few as 11 weeks
5.0 Credits

What you can learn.

  • Understand the gene and environment interactions and the process of chromosomal inheritance
  • Evaluate the contribution of evolution, ecology, and global changes to conservation strategies
  • Recognize species formation through evolutionary mechanisms and interactions

About this course:

Principles of Mendelian inheritance and population genetics. Introduction to principles and mechanisms of evolution by natural selection, population, behavioral, and community ecology, and biodiversity, including major taxa and their evolutionary, ecological, and physiological relationships. Letter grading. Transferable for UC credit.
Suggested Prerequisites

It is advisable that you complete the following (or equivalent) since they are prerequisites for Genetics, Evolution, and Ecology.

LIFESCI XL 7A - Cell and Molecular Biology

Spring 2019 Schedule

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Available
-
Tuesday, Thursday
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Jana Johnson
366447
Fee:
$1,000.00
45 days left. Enroll by Apr 2, 2019
See Details
Notes

Lecture only. The textbook and iClicker will be used throughout LIFESCI XL 7A, 7B, and 7C. Students can purchase either iClicker 2 or iClicker + for this course. Class limited to 40 students.

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: April 9, 2019. Internet access required. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 16, 2019
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Apr 2, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Thu Apr 4, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue Apr 9, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Thu Apr 11, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue Apr 16, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Thu Apr 18, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue Apr 23, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Thu Apr 25, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue Apr 30, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Thu May 2, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue May 7, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Thu May 9, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue May 14, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Thu May 16, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue May 21, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Thu May 23, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue May 28, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Thu May 30, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue Jun 4, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Thu Jun 6, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Lecture
Tue Jun 11, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA
Geology 6704
Available
-
Monday, Wednesday
Instructor: Jana Johnson
366449
Fee:
$1,000.00
44 days left. Enroll by Apr 1, 2019
See Details
Notes

Lecture only. The textbook and iClicker will be used throughout LIFESCI XL 7A, 7B, and 7C. Students can purchase either iClicker 2 or iClicker + for this course. Class limited to 40 students.

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: April 8, 2019. Internet access required. No meeting 5/27/19.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 8, 2019
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Apr 1, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed Apr 3, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon Apr 8, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed Apr 10, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon Apr 15, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed Apr 17, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon Apr 22, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed Apr 24, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon Apr 29, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed May 1, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon May 6, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed May 8, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon May 13, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed May 15, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon May 20, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed May 22, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon May 27, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed May 29, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon Jun 3, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Discussion
Wed Jun 5, 2019
6:30PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu
Lecture
Mon Jun 10, 2019
6:30PM - 9:30PM
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills
UCLA Extension Woodland Hills 216 - Malibu

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Sciences

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning