Genetics

LIFESCI XL 107

Advanced Mendelian genetics, recombination, biochemical genetics, mutation, DNA, genetic code, gene regulation, genes in populations.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $995.00
As few as 10 weeks
5.0

What you can learn.

  • Demonstrate the basic skills needed to solve genetic problems
  • Discuss the specialized vocabulary used in the field of genetics
  • Outline fundamental theories and concepts as they relate to classical and modern genetics
  • Apply a conceptual framework to assist with critical thinking about real-life problems as they relate to genetics
  • Discuss, integrate, and assemble concepts related to genetic mapping
  • Describe how genetics are used in modern technology and in disease management and treatment

About this course:

Not open for credit to students with credit for Life Sciences 4. Advanced Mendelian genetics, recombination, biochemical genetics, mutation, DNA, genetic code, gene regulation, and genes in populations. Transferable for UC credit.
Prerequisites
LIFESCI 7C, 23L, CHEM 14A (or 20A), 14C (or 30A).

Summer 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses meet regularly and are fully online. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Available
-
Monday, Wednesday 7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Michael Dowicki
374731
Fee:
$995.00
23 days left. Enroll by Jun 22, 2020
See Details
Notes

Letter grading. Lecture only.

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: June 26, 2020. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after June 29, 2020
Course Requirements
Book: Genetics: From Genes to Genomes by Leland H. Hartwell
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Jun 22, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jun 24, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jun 29, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jul 1, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jul 6, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jul 8, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jul 13, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jul 15, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jul 20, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jul 22, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jul 27, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jul 29, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 3, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Aug 5, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 10, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Aug 12, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 17, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Aug 19, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 24, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Aug 26, 2020
7:00PM PDT - 10:00PM PDT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Sciences

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning