Introduction to Pathophysiology: Disease States in the Human Body

PHYSCI X 459.10

An introductory course that provides an overview of the mechanisms and consequences of disease based on physiological dysfunction in the major organ systems.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Remote Instruction
Online
Starting at $740.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Identify the interaction of human physiology and organ specific diseases
  • Explore signs and symptoms of cancer, Parkinson's, Alzheimer's, and cardiovascular diseases
  • Identify the association between health-related behaviors and diseases

About this course:

This course is designed as an overview of the mechanisms and consequences of disease based on physiological dysfunction in the major organ systems. Each organ system is introduced by a brief and basic review covering normal structure and function, followed by the pathology and some common disorders of each system. Discussion includes common clinical presentations of disease and the mechanisms underlying signs and symptoms. Diseases covered include cardiovascular, cancer, Parkinson's, Alzheimer's, hepatitis, infections, and diseases of the kidney and cardiovascular system (some topics may vary by quarter).

Fall 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Enrollment Closed
-
Tuesday 6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Ryan Williams
375712
Fee:
$740.00
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited. Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: October 6, 2020. Internet access required. Materials required. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 13, 2020
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Sep 29, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 6, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 13, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 20, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 27, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 3, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 10, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 17, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 24, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Dec 1, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Dec 8, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Enrollment Closed
-
Thursday, Saturday
Location: Online
Instructor: Ryan Williams
378215
Fee:
$740.00
See Details
Notes

No meeting on November 26, 2020. Make-up meeting on December 5, 2020.

Enrollment limited. Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: October 8, 2020. Internet access required. Materials required. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 15, 2020
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Oct 1, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 8, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 15, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 22, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 29, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 5, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 12, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 19, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 26, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Dec 3, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Sat Dec 5, 2020
4:00PM PT - 7:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Dec 10, 2020
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online

Available Format(s):

These courses are fully online and have no regular meeting times.

Future Offering (Opens November 02, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
This section has no set meeting times.
Instructor: Dr. Judith N. Halle
377152
Fee:
$865.00
See Details
Notes

Midterm and final exams are proctored online; additional requirements include microphone, headphones/ speakers, and webcam. Coursework must be submitted as Microsoft Word or Excel attachments.

Early enrollment advised. Enrollment deadline: January 8, 2021. Internet access required. Materials required. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 08, 2021
Course Requirements
Understanding Pathophysiology

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm
Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Sciences

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning