Introduction to Protein Structure: From Disease to Therapy

BIOL CH X 401

In this course, an introduction to protein and nucleic acid structures is delivered through various lectures, as well as exploring the relationship between protein structures and common human pathologies.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Remote
Starting at $740.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you will learn.

  • Explore the various therapies used to treat common human diseases
  • Understand the structure of proteins and how mutations lead to diseases
  • Evaluate how proteins can be used in the development of therapeutic diseases

About this course:

Proteins are involved in almost every physiological process that occurs within the body. They are necessary for countless metabolic processes, including converting glucose into energy, carrying oxygen in your blood, and recognizing and destroying foreign pathogens. Knowing the structure of the proteins that perform these essential functions is paramount to understanding how they work normally and why mutations lead to disease. Although proteins are involved in innumerable diseases, they may also be key in the development of therapeutic treatments. By understanding protein structure, scientists can design small molecules and even novel proteins that can treat a variety of diseases. This course provides an introduction to protein and nucleic acid structure as it relates to the essential functions that these macromolecules perform within cells. Lectures focus on how protein structure relates to a variety of common human pathologies and on the therapies that are used to treat these diseases.
Prerequisites

LIFESCI XL 3 or LIFESCI XL 7A 

Fall 2021 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Tuesday 6:00PM - 9:00PM PT
Enrollment Closed
See Details
Instructor: Rishab Gupta
381927
Fee:
$740.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Online
Notes

Enrollment limited to 25. Enrollment deadline: September 28, 2021. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 04, 2021
Course Requirements
Book: Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry by David L. Nelson
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Sep 21, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Sep 28, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 5, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 12, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 19, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 26, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 2, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 9, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 16, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 23, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 30, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online

Winter 2022 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Wednesday 6:00PM - 9:00PM PT
Future Offering (Opens November 01, 2021 12:00:00 AM)
See Details
Instructor: Rishab Gupta
384088
Fee:
$740.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Online
Notes

Enrollment limited to 25. Enrollment deadline: January 12, 2022. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 18, 2022
Course Requirements
Book: Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry by David L. Nelson
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Jan 5, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jan 12, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jan 19, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jan 26, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Feb 2, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Feb 9, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Feb 16, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Feb 23, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Mar 2, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Mar 9, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Mar 16, 2022
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm
Ready to start
your future?
By signing up, you agree to UCLA Extension’s Privacy Policy.

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning