Copyediting I

WRITING X 451.1

Learn copyediting best practices as you develop skills in this area critical to writing, editing, and publishing.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Remote Instruction
Starting at $695.00
As few as 10 weeks
3.0

What you can learn.

  • Learn common rules of grammar and style
  • Practice reading like a copyeditor to identify errors and opportunities
  • Incorporate standard copyediting notation into your work
  • Develop core skills necessary to work successfully in copyediting and publishing

About this course:

This course gives students an overview of copyediting processes involved in preparing a manuscript for editorial review or publication. Appropriate for writers of all genres and those seeking to develop professional skills in copyediting, students learn best practices for completing a document review, including common grammar rules, copyediting notation, and reading like a copyeditor.

Fall 2021 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Wednesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM PT
Available
See Details
Instructor: David Seidman
382370
Fee:
$695.00
Remote Instructionformat icon
Location: Online
ENROLL BY: Sep 29, 2021
See Details
Notes

No meeting November 24, 2021.

Enrollment limited to 15 students. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 13, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Wed Sep 29, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Oct 6, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Oct 13, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Oct 20, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Oct 27, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Nov 3, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Nov 10, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Nov 17, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Dec 1, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Wed Dec 8, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
-
Tuesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM PT
Available
See Details
Instructor: Ryan Smernoff
382371
Fee:
$695.00
Remote Instructionformat icon
Location: Online
ENROLL BY: Sep 28, 2021
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited to 15 students. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 12, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Sep 28, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Oct 5, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Oct 12, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Oct 19, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Oct 26, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Nov 2, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Nov 9, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Nov 16, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Nov 23, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Nov 30, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Editing and Publishing

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning