Income Taxation in Personal Financial Planning

MGMT X 430.33

This course examines the issues and determination of tax liability for numerous events and activities as they relate to a financial plan.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Hybrid
Starting at $765.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Gain the information and tools of income taxation to make financial planning decisions
  • Understand tax issues and concepts as they relate to insurance, investments, and benefit planning
  • Learn about the impacts of intra-family transactions
  • Demonstrate an understanding of planning techniques such as excluding income, deferring income, shifting income, and managing or timing of income

About this course:

This course examines the issues and determination of tax liability for numerous events and activities as they relate to the financial plan. Students are given the necessary information and tools of income taxation to make financial planning decisions within the context of either personal or client financial goals and objectives. Topics include tax issues and concepts in relation to insurance, investments, benefit planning, intrafamily transactions, and business operations. Students are taught and asked to demonstrate an understanding of the following planning techniques: excluding income, deferring income, shifting income, and managing or timing income.
Prerequisites
MGMT X 430.31 Survey of Personal Financial Planning, MGMT X 430.391 Financial Analysis in Personal Financial Planning, and MGMT X 427.08 Fundamentals of Tax Preparation, or MGMT X 127 Federal Income Taxation, or consent of instructor.

Winter 2021 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Available
-
Thursday 6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Mark Cecchini
377970
Fee:
$765.00
Still accepting enrollments
See Details
Notes

Visitors not permitted. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 20, 2021
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Jan 7, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 14, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 21, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 28, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 4, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 11, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 18, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 25, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 4, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 11, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 18, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online

Available Format(s):

Hybrid courses have both regular remote meeting times and online instruction. Click “See Details” for more information.

Future Offering (Opens February 01, 2021 12:00:00 AM)
-
Tuesday 6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Location: Online
379515
Fee:
$765.00
See Details
Notes

Visitors not permitted. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 12, 2021
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Mar 30, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 6, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 13, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 20, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 27, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 4, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 11, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 18, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 25, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jun 1, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jun 8, 2021
6:30PM PT - 8:30PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.
Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Personal Financial Planning

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning