Introduction to Statistical Reasoning

STATS XL 10

This introductory course covers statistical understanding including strengths and limitations of basic experimental designs, graphical and numerical summaries of data, inference, and regression as descriptive tool.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $985.00
As few as 10 weeks
5.0

What you can learn.

  • Gain an appreciation for the subject of statistics and understand the role it plays in science
  • Explore statistical methods used in data analysis
  • Develop ability to reason and make conclusions based on data
  • Perform a Hypothesis Test (HT) based on data
  • Perform a simple linear regression analysis
  • Use mathematical principles of probability and symbolic representations to interpret discrete and continuous random variable

About this course:

This course provides an introduction to statistical thinking and understanding, including strengths and limitations of basic experimental designs, graphical and numerical summaries of data, inference, and regression as a descriptive tool. Not open for credit to students with credit for Economics 40. Fulfills in part the UCLA General Education requirement for Life or Physical Sciences. Transferable for UC credit.
Prerequisites
MATH 903 Intermediate Algebra for College Students or three years of high school mathematics.

Spring 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses meet regularly and are fully online. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Available
-
Tuesday 6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Matthew Baltar
373212
Fee:
$985.00
2 days left. Enroll by Mar 31, 2020
See Details
Notes

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: April 7, 2020. Internet access required. Materials required. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 14, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Calculator (scientific or graphing)
(Optional) Book: Essential Statistics
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Mar 31, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 7, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 14, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 21, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 28, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 5, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 12, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 19, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 26, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jun 2, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jun 9, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Available
-
Thursday 6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Matthew Baltar
373213
Fee:
$985.00
4 days left. Enroll by Apr 2, 2020
See Details
Notes

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: April 9, 2020. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 16, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Calculator (scientific or graphing)
(Optional) Book: Essential Statistics
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Apr 2, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Apr 9, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Apr 16, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Apr 23, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Apr 30, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu May 7, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu May 14, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu May 21, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu May 28, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jun 4, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jun 11, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Canceled
-
Saturday 9:00AM PDT - 12:15PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Jaime Vallejo Valadez
373214
Fee:
$985.00
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: April 11, 2020 . Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 18, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Essential Statistics by Robert Gould and Colleen N. Ryan
Scientific calculator
(Optional) Graphing Calculator (Ti83 or Ti84)
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Sat Apr 4, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Sat Apr 11, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Sat Apr 18, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Sat Apr 25, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Sat May 2, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Sat May 9, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Sat May 16, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Sat May 23, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Sat May 30, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Sat Jun 6, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Sat Jun 13, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:15PM PDT
Online
Available
-
Wednesday 6:30PM PDT - 9:45PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Jaime Vallejo Valadez
373215
Fee:
$985.00
3 days left. Enroll by Apr 1, 2020
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: April 8, 2020. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 15, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Essential Statistics, 2nd Edition by Robert Gould and Colleen N. Ryan
Scientific calculator
(Optional) Graphing Calculator (Ti83 or Ti84)
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Apr 1, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:45PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 8, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:45PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 15, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:45PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 22, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:45PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 29, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:45PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 6, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:45PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 13, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:45PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 20, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:45PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 27, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:45PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jun 3, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 9:45PM PDT
Online
Available
-
Tuesday 6:00PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Miles Chen
373216
Fee:
$985.00
2 days left. Enroll by Mar 31, 2020
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: April 7, 2020 . Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 14, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Calculator (scientific or graphing)
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Mar 31, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 7, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 14, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 21, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 28, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 5, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 12, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 19, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 26, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jun 2, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jun 9, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Math & Statistics

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning