Introduction to Statistical Reasoning

STATS XL 10

This introductory course covers statistical understanding including strengths and limitations of basic experimental designs, graphical and numerical summaries of data, inference, and regression as descriptive tool.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $985.00
As few as 11 weeks
5.0

What you can learn.

  • Gain an appreciation for the subject of statistics and understand the role it plays in science
  • Explore statistical methods used in data analysis
  • Develop ability to reason and make conclusions based on data
  • Perform a Hypothesis Test (HT) based on data
  • Perform a simple linear regression analysis
  • Use mathematical principles of probability and symbolic representations to interpret discrete and continuous random variable

About this course:

This course provides an introduction to statistical thinking and understanding, including strengths and limitations of basic experimental designs, graphical and numerical summaries of data, inference, and regression as a descriptive tool. Not open for credit to students with credit for Economics 40. Fulfills in part the UCLA General Education requirement for Life or Physical Sciences. Transferable for UC credit.
Prerequisites
Three years of high school mathematics.

Summer 2021 Schedule

Available Format(s):

Remote instruction courses are taught online in real-time with regularly scheduled class meetings held via Zoom. Course materials can be accessed any time through an online learning platform.

Available
-
Wednesday 6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Matthew Baltar
381039
Fee:
$985.00
6 days left. Enroll by Jun 23, 2021
See Details
Notes

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: June 30, 2021. Internet access required. Materials required. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after July 06, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Calculator (scientific or graphing)
(Optional) Book: Essential Statistics
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Jun 23, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jun 30, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jul 7, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jul 14, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jul 21, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jul 28, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Aug 4, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Aug 11, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Aug 18, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Aug 25, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Sep 1, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Available
-
Thursday 6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Matthew Baltar
381040
Fee:
$985.00
7 days left. Enroll by Jun 24, 2021
See Details
Notes

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline:July 1, 2021. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after July 07, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Calculator (scientific or graphing)
(Optional) Book: Essential Statistics
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Jun 24, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jul 1, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jul 8, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jul 15, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jul 22, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jul 29, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Aug 5, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Aug 12, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Aug 19, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Aug 26, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Sep 2, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Available
-
Tuesday 6:00PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Miles Chen
382155
Fee:
$985.00
5 days left. Enroll by Jun 22, 2021
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: June 29, 2021. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after July 05, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Calculator (scientific or graphing)
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Jun 22, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jun 29, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jul 6, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jul 13, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jul 20, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jul 27, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Aug 3, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Aug 10, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Aug 17, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Aug 24, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Aug 31, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Math & Statistics

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning