Biochemistry: DNA, RNA, and Protein Synthesis

CHEM XL 153B

This course is a continuation of the biochemistry series and is geared towards pre-medical and pre-health students. It covers metabolism, DNA and RNA properties, transcription, and protein synthesis and processing.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Winter
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $935.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Understand classical topics of nucleotide metabolism and nucleic acid structure
  • Understand DNA replication and repair, transcription, and translation
  • Comprehend protein synthesis and processing
  • Understand modern topics of epigenetics and transcriptional and translational regulation
  • Recognize non-coding RNAs

About this course:

This course covers nucleotide metabolism, DNA replication and repair, transcription machinery, regulation of transcription, RNA structure and processing, and protein synthesis and processing. Transferable for UC credit.
Prerequisites
LIFESCI 2 and LIFESCI 3 (or LIFESCI 7A, 7B, and 7C), LIFESCI 23L, and CHEM 153A with a grade of C or better.

Summer 2021 Schedule

Available Format(s):

Remote instruction courses are taught online in real-time with regularly scheduled class meetings held via Zoom. Course materials can be accessed any time through an online learning platform.

Canceled
-
Monday 6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Nagendra N. Mishra
381028
Fee:
$935.00
See Details
Notes

No meeting July 5, 2021.

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: June 28, 2021. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after July 04, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
(Optional) Book: Biochemistry by Donald Voet and Judith G. Voet
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Jun 21, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jun 28, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jul 5, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jul 12, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jul 19, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jul 26, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 2, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 9, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 16, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 23, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Aug 30, 2021
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Online
Wait List
-
Tuesday 6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Paul Tarr
381029
Fee:
$935.00
See Details
Notes

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: June 29, 2021. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after July 05, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Biochemistry by Donald Voet and Judith G. Voet
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Jun 22, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jun 29, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jul 6, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jul 13, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jul 20, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jul 27, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Aug 3, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Aug 10, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Aug 17, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Aug 24, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Aug 31, 2021
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Sciences

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning