Biochemistry: Introduction to Structure, Enzymes, and Metabolism

CHEM XL 153A

This course provides an introduction to biochemistry and is geared towards pre-medical and pre-health students. This course is the first and introductory course in the biochemistry series.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Remote Instruction
Starting at $935.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Establish the biochemical foundation necessary to pursue science-based professional careers
  • Understand basic molecular units of the cell (amino & nucleic acids, carbohydrates, and lipids)
  • Recognize enzymes and enzyme kinetics involved in biochemical reactions
  • Understand metabolic principles of the cell and energetics
  • Explore glucose metabolism via glycolysis
  • Comprehend electron transport chain and oxidative phosphorylation

About this course:

This course covers structure of proteins, carbohydrates, and lipids; enzyme catalysis and principles of metabolism, including glycolysis and the citric acid cycle; and oxidative phosphorylation. Transferable for UC credit.
Prerequisites
LIFESCI 2 and LIFESCI 3 (or LIFESCI 7A, 7B, and 7C), LIFESCI 23L, and CHEM 14D with grades of C- or better.

Spring 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses meet regularly and are fully online. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Wait List
-
Wednesday 6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Shakir Sayani
373203
Fee:
$935.00
See Details
Notes
Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: April 8, 2020. Internet access required. Materials required. 
Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 15, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
(Optional) Book: Biochemistry by Donald Voet and Judith G. Voet
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Apr 1, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 8, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 15, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 22, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 29, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 6, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 13, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 20, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 27, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jun 3, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jun 10, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Wait List
-
Thursday 6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Shakir Sayani
373204
Fee:
$935.00
See Details
Notes
Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: April 9, 2020. Internet access required. Materials required.
Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 16, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
(Optional) Book: Biochemistry by Donald Voet and Judith G. Voet
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Apr 2, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Apr 9, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Apr 16, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Apr 23, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Apr 30, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu May 7, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu May 14, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu May 21, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu May 28, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jun 4, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jun 11, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:30PM PDT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Sciences

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning