Post-Production for Film and Television

FILM TV X 404A
Emphasizing how new technologies continue to impact post-production, this course examines the post-production process for film and television. Includes guest speakers and field trips to post-production facilities.
READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Classroom
Hybrid
Online
Starting at $699.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0 Credits

What you can learn.

  • Understand the picture and sound editing processes
  • Learn about non-linear editing of single and multi-camera programs
  • Explore special visual effects
  • Recognize the impact of sound, from music scoring to effects design
  • Master budgeting, scheduling, and deliveries
  • Study high-definition television and its impact on post-production

About this course:

Emphasizing how new technologies continue to impact post-production, this course examines the post-production process for film and television. Topics include picture and sound editing processes; non-linear editing of single and multi-camera programs; special visual effects; the impact of sound--from music scoring to effects design; budgeting, scheduling, and deliveries; and high-definition television and its impact on both feature and television post-production. Includes guest speakers and field trips to post-production facilities.

Fall 2018 Schedule

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Enrollment Closed
-
Thursday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Richard Greenberg
363521
Fee:
$699.00
See Details
Notes

No meeting November 22, 2018.

No refund after October 11, 2018. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 11, 2018
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Sep 27, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Haines Hall 220
Lecture
Thu Oct 4, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Haines Hall 220
Lecture
Thu Oct 11, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Haines Hall 220
Lecture
Thu Oct 18, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Haines Hall 220
Lecture
Thu Oct 25, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Haines Hall 220
Lecture
Thu Nov 1, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Haines Hall 220
Lecture
Thu Nov 8, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Haines Hall 220
Lecture
Thu Nov 15, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Haines Hall 220
Lecture
Thu Nov 22, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Haines Hall 220
Lecture
Thu Nov 29, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Haines Hall 220
Lecture
Thu Dec 6, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Haines Hall 220
Lecture
Thu Dec 13, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Haines Hall 220
Enrollment Closed
-
Saturday 10:00AM - 1:30PM
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Barry Goch
363524
Fee:
$699.00
See Details
Notes

No meeting November 24, 2018.

No refund after October 13, 2018. Internet access required. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 13, 2018
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Sat Sep 29, 2018
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Sat Oct 6, 2018
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Sat Oct 13, 2018
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Sat Oct 20, 2018
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Sat Oct 27, 2018
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Sat Nov 3, 2018
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Sat Nov 10, 2018
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Sat Nov 17, 2018
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Sat Dec 1, 2018
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Sat Dec 8, 2018
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175

These courses are fully online, and there are no in-person classroom meetings.

Future Offering (Opens 05 Nov 2018 12:00:00 AM)
-
Instructor: Robert Scheid
364499
Fee:
$699.00
See Details
Notes

Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 11, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.

Hybrid courses utilize a combination of in-person classroom meetings and online meetings.

Future Offering (Opens 05 Nov 2018 12:00:00 AM)
-
Thursday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Tyler Danna
364488
Fee:
$699.00
See Details
Notes

This course includes both online sessions and classroom meetings. Refer to course syllabus for online session details.

Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 23, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Jan 10, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
La Kretz Hall 110
Lecture
Thu Jan 17, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
La Kretz Hall 110
Lecture
Thu Jan 24, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
La Kretz Hall 110
Lecture
Thu Jan 31, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
La Kretz Hall 110
Lecture
Thu Feb 7, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
La Kretz Hall 110
Lecture
Thu Feb 14, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
La Kretz Hall 110
Lecture
Thu Feb 21, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
La Kretz Hall 110
Lecture
Thu Feb 28, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
La Kretz Hall 110
Lecture
Thu Mar 7, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
La Kretz Hall 110
Lecture
Thu Mar 14, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
La Kretz Hall 110
Lecture
Thu Mar 21, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
La Kretz Hall 110

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Film & TV

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning