Post-Production for Film and Television

FILM TV X 404A

Emphasizing how new technologies continue to impact post-production, this course examines the post-production process for film and television. Includes guest speakers and field trips to post-production facilities.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Classroom
Starting at $699.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Understand the picture and sound editing processes
  • Learn about non-linear editing of single and multi-camera programs
  • Explore special visual effects
  • Recognize the impact of sound, from music scoring to effects design
  • Master budgeting, scheduling, and deliveries
  • Study high-definition television and its impact on post-production

About this course:

Emphasizing how new technologies continue to impact post-production, this course examines the post-production process for film and television. Topics include picture and sound editing processes; non-linear editing of single and multi-camera programs; special visual effects; the impact of sound--from music scoring to effects design; budgeting, scheduling, and deliveries; and high-definition television and its impact on both feature and television post-production. Includes guest speakers and field trips to post-production facilities.

Fall 2019 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Available
-
Saturday 10:00AM - 1:30PM
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Barry Goch
369359
Fee:
$699.00
41 days left. Enroll by Sep 28, 2019
See Details
Notes

No meeting November 30, 2019. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 11, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
(Optional) Book: Modern Post : Postproduction Workflows and Techniques for Digital Filmmakers by Scott Arundale and Tashi Trieu
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Sat Sep 28, 2019
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 167
Lecture
Sat Oct 5, 2019
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 167
Lecture
Sat Oct 12, 2019
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 167
Lecture
Sat Oct 19, 2019
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 167
Lecture
Sat Oct 26, 2019
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 167
Lecture
Sat Nov 2, 2019
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 167
Lecture
Sat Nov 9, 2019
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 167
Lecture
Sat Nov 16, 2019
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 167
Lecture
Sat Nov 23, 2019
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 167
Lecture
Sat Dec 7, 2019
10:00AM - 1:30PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 167
Available
-
Tuesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Richard Greenberg
369358
Fee:
$699.00
37 days left. Enroll by Sep 24, 2019
See Details
Notes

Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 07, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Sep 24, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Tue Oct 1, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Tue Oct 8, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Tue Oct 15, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Tue Oct 22, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Tue Oct 29, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Tue Nov 5, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Tue Nov 12, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Tue Nov 19, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Tue Nov 26, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175
Lecture
Tue Dec 3, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 175

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Film & TV

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning