Writing the First Screenplay I

SCRIPT X 410.1

Learn how to write a screenplay by developing a compelling story and tackling a feature film script outline in this first course of a four-course sequence.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Classroom
Online
Starting at $665.00
As few as 10 weeks
3.0

What you can learn.

  • Create and evaluate movie story ideas
  • Design fully realized characters
  • Chart a complex, unique plot
  • Write compelling film scenes
  • Complete a 4-5 page feature film outline

About this course:

The first in a four-part sequence designed to take you through the full process of writing a feature film screenplay, this course grounds you in the key craft elements of story structure, plot, scene development, character, theme, genre, and dialogue and shows you how they work together to grip an audience's emotions. You learn how to create and evaluate story ideas, explore how characters' inner wants and immediate goals shape and drive a screenplay's action, see what constitutes compelling plots and subplots, and learn how to construct a scene. Throughout the course, you complete a series of exercises which serves as the basis for your script outline, a prose description of your screenplay. The course goal is to learn how to write effective, compelling scenes and to create a four-to-five-page outline that clearly delineates your script's beginning, middle, and end. The ability to write an effective outline is a critical skill for the professional screenwriter, serves as the basis for most pitches, and is required for admission into SCRIPT X 410.2 Writing the First Screenplay II.

Winter 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses are fully online, and there are no in-person classroom meetings.

Wait List
-
Instructor: Ron Wilkerson
371151
Fee:
$695.00
See Details
Notes
Enrollment limited to 15 students.
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 13, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Available
-
Instructor: Michael Janover
371156
Fee:
$695.00
25 days left. Enroll by Jan 8, 2020
See Details
Notes
Enrollment limited to 15 students.
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 13, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Available
-
Tuesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Colin Costello
371082
Fee:
$665.00
24 days left. Enroll by Jan 7, 2020
See Details
Notes
Enrollment limited to 15 students.
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 12, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Jan 7, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A32
Discussion
Tue Jan 14, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A32
Discussion
Tue Jan 21, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A32
Discussion
Tue Jan 28, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A32
Discussion
Tue Feb 4, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A32
Discussion
Tue Feb 11, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A32
Discussion
Tue Feb 18, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A32
Discussion
Tue Feb 25, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A32
Discussion
Tue Mar 3, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A32
Discussion
Tue Mar 10, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Kaplan Hall A32
Wait List
-
Wednesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Laurence Rosenthal
371088
Fee:
$665.00
See Details
Notes
Enrollment limited to 15 students.
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 13, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Wed Jan 8, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2333
Discussion
Wed Jan 15, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2333
Discussion
Wed Jan 22, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2333
Discussion
Wed Jan 29, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2333
Discussion
Wed Feb 5, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2333
Discussion
Wed Feb 12, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2333
Discussion
Wed Feb 19, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2333
Discussion
Wed Feb 26, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2333
Discussion
Wed Mar 4, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2333
Discussion
Wed Mar 11, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 2333
Available
-
Thursday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Philip Eisner
371091
Fee:
$665.00
26 days left. Enroll by Jan 9, 2020
See Details
Notes
Enrollment limited to 15 students.
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 14, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Thu Jan 9, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1343
Discussion
Thu Jan 16, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1343
Discussion
Thu Jan 23, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1343
Discussion
Thu Jan 30, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1343
Discussion
Thu Feb 6, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1343
Discussion
Thu Feb 13, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1343
Discussion
Thu Feb 20, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1343
Discussion
Thu Feb 27, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1343
Discussion
Thu Mar 5, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1343
Discussion
Thu Mar 12, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
School of Public Affairs Bldg. 1343
Available
-
Saturday 10:00AM - 1:00PM
Location: UCLA Extension DTLA
Instructor: Tony DuShane
371146
Fee:
$665.00
28 days left. Enroll by Jan 11, 2020
See Details
Notes

No meeting February 15, 2020.

Enrollment limited to 15 students.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 16, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Sat Jan 11, 2020
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Sat Jan 18, 2020
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Sat Jan 25, 2020
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Sat Feb 1, 2020
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Sat Feb 8, 2020
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Sat Feb 22, 2020
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Sat Feb 29, 2020
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Sat Mar 7, 2020
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Sat Mar 14, 2020
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B
Discussion
Sat Mar 21, 2020
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 101B

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Screenwriting

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning