Fitness Testing

COM HLT X 453

Students get a practical understanding of fitness testing and screening in this course along with explaining results to clients.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Winter
Remote Instruction
Starting at $705.00
As few as 12 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Perform a basic health screening to help determine the appropriate starting point and program progression for clients
  • Gain an understanding of an individual's liability and duty of care to the clients they train
  • Learn the gold standard for fitness testing measures and critically analyze other methods used in the industry
  • Create intake forms and systems to help others in their personal training vocational pursuits

About this course:

This course introduces a comprehensive review of fitness testing and screening clients through the development of intake forms and questionnaires used to identify a client’s goals and needs. Each health-related component of fitness will be discussed from the perspectives of validity and reliability, and comparing ACSM standards and procedures to other methods of testing that are available in the modern fitness industry. Additional topics essential to today’s personal trainer role will be covered, including skill-related components of fitness, wearable technology, and the interpretation and explanation of data to clients. This remote class differs from previous in-person Fitness Testing classes, in that the students do not get the opportunity to practice the physical skills necessary to perform ACSM standard fitness tests. It instead focuses on the value added to a personal trainer’s business, the comparison of ACSM to other methods of testing, and the future of testing with regards to technology and other elements of fitness unrelated to the traditional health related components, but which are very relevant in today’s industry.
Prerequisites
PHYSCI X 452 Applied Anatomy and Biomechanics and PHYSCI X 450 Exercise Physiology.

Fall 2021 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Tuesday, Thursday 3:30PM - 5:00PM PT
Available
See Details
Instructor: Paul McCarthy
383209
Fee:
$705.00
Remote Instructionformat icon
Location: Online
ENROLL BY: Sep 21, 2021
See Details
Notes

Enrollment/class participation contingent on signing a liability waiver. 

Visitors not permitted. No meeting on November 11 & 25, 2021. Enrollment deadline: September 23, 2021. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after September 27, 2021
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Sep 21, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Sep 23, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Sep 28, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Sep 30, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 5, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 7, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 12, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 14, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 19, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 21, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Oct 26, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Oct 28, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 2, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 4, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 9, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 11, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 16, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 18, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 23, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Nov 25, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Nov 30, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Dec 2, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Dec 7, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Dec 9, 2021
3:30PM PT - 5:00PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Health Care & Counseling-General

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning