Fitness Testing

COM HLT X 453

Students get a practical understanding of fitness testing and screening in this course along with explaining results to clients.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Winter
Hybrid (In-Person)
Starting at $705.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Perform a basic health screening to help determine the appropriate starting point and program progression for clients
  • Gain an understanding of an individual's liability and duty of care to the clients they train
  • Learn the gold standard for fitness testing measures and critically analyze other methods used in the industry
  • Create intake forms and systems to help others in their personal training vocational pursuits

About this course:

This course introduces a comprehensive review of fitness testing and screening clients through the development of intake forms and questionnaires used to identify a client’s goals and needs. Each health-related component of fitness will be discussed from the perspectives of validity and reliability, and comparing ACSM standards and procedures to other methods of testing that are available in the modern fitness industry. Additional topics essential to today’s personal trainer role will be covered, including skill-related components of fitness, wearable technology, and the interpretation and explanation of data to clients. This hybrid class provides all lectures through virtual learning and then provides in person lessons to practice and apply that knowledge on UCLA’s campus. The class also focuses on the value added to a personal trainer’s business, the comparison of ACSM to other methods of testing, and the future of testing with regards to technology and other elements of fitness unrelated to the traditional health related components, but which are very relevant in today’s industry.
Prerequisites
PHYSCI X 452 Applied Anatomy and Biomechanics and PHYSCI X 450 Exercise Physiology.

Winter 2022 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Tuesday, Thursday 3:00PM - 4:30PM PT
Available
See Details
Instructor: Paul McCarthy
384125
Fee:
$705.00
Hybrid (In-Person)format icon
Location: Online
ENROLL BY: Jan 4, 2022
See Details
Notes

Enrollment/class participation contingent on signing a liability waiver. 

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: January 6, 2022. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 10, 2022
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Jan 4, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 6, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jan 11, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 13, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jan 18, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 20, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jan 25, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 27, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 1, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 3, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 8, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 10, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 15, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 17, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 22, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 24, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Mar 1, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 3, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Mar 8, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 10, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Mar 15, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 17, 2022
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Ready to start
your future?
By signing up, you agree to UCLA Extension’s Privacy Policy.

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning