Fitness Testing

COM HLT X 453

Students get a practical understanding of fitness testing and screening in this course along with explaining results to clients.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Winter
Remote Instruction
Starting at $705.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Practice fitness-testing techniques: body composition analysis, blood pressure monitoring, flexibility, and assessment of range of motion
  • Explore muscular endurance, strength testing, and submaximal cardiovascular fitness testing techniques
  • Assess health questionnaires and identify fitness parameters and goals

About this course:

This course introduces a comprehensive review of fitness testing and screening clients through the development of intake forms and questionnaires used to identify a client’s goals and needs. Each health-related component of fitness will be discussed from the perspectives of validity and reliability, and comparing ACSM standards and procedures to other methods of testing that are available in the modern fitness industry. Additional topics essential to today’s personal trainer role will be covered, including skill-related components of fitness, wearable technology, and the interpretation and explanation of data to clients. This remote class differs from previous in-person Fitness Testing classes, in that the students do not get the opportunity to practice the physical skills necessary to perform ACSM standard fitness tests. It instead focuses on the value added to a personal trainer’s business, the comparison of ACSM to other methods of testing, and the future of testing with regards to technology and other elements of fitness unrelated to the traditional health related components, but which are very relevant in today’s industry.
Prerequisites
PHYSCI X 452 Applied Anatomy and Biomechanics and PHYSCI X 450 Exercise Physiology.

Winter 2021 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Future Offering (Opens November 02, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Tuesday, Thursday 3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Paul McCarthy
377160
Fee:
$705.00
See Details
Notes

Enrollment/class participation contingent on signing a liability waiver. 

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: January 7, 2021. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 12, 2021
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Jan 5, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 7, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jan 12, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 14, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jan 19, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 21, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jan 26, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Jan 28, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 2, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 4, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 9, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 11, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 16, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 18, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Feb 23, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Feb 25, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Mar 2, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 4, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Mar 9, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 11, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Mar 16, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online
Lecture
Thu Mar 18, 2021
3:00PM PT - 4:30PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Health Care & Counseling-General

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning