Project Schedule and Cost Management

MGMT X 444.2

Apply the balancing trade-offs between scope, time, and cost as major duties for successful and cost-efficient project completion with high-quality deliverables meeting or exceeding timeline and budgetary targets. Learn to optimize your schedules and evaluate the compliance of actual work to the set project baselines using earned value management techniques.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Classroom
Online
Starting at $999.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0
3.3

What you can learn.

  • Describe project scheduling approaches including traditional methodologies like critical path and emerging practices like agile
  • Develop project schedules with activities, durations, and interdependencies
  • Apply scheduling optimization with crashing, fast-tracking, leads and lags to deliver projects on time
  • Use cost estimation techniques such as bottom-up, top-down, and parametric calculations to develop the project budget
  • Utilize Earned Value Management principles to track project budget performance and forecast future spending to avoid cost overruns

About this course:

Apply the balancing trade-offs between scope, time, and cost as major duties for successful and cost-efficient project completion with high-quality deliverables meeting or exceeding timeline and budgetary targets. Learn to optimize your schedules and evaluate the compliance of actual work to the set project baselines using earned value management techniques. This course, along with others in the Project Management certificate, contributes to preparing students who are planning to take the PMP® Exam by PMI®.
PMI logo

UCLA Extension is a Project Management Institute Registered Education Provider (R.E.P.) and is approved by PMI to issue professional development units (PDUs).

Winter 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses are fully online, and there are no in-person classroom meetings.

Enrollment Closed
-
Instructor: Kevyn Jones
371611
Fee:
$999.00
See Details
Notes

Required course in Project Management Certificate.

Enrollment limited to 25; early enrollment advised.  Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 20, 2020
Course Requirements

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Enrollment Closed
-
Tuesday 6:00PM - 9:00PM
Location: UCLA Extension DTLA
Instructor: Artin Mgrtichian
371609
Fee:
$999.00
See Details
Notes

Required course in Project Management Certificate.

Enrollment limited to 25; early enrollment advised. Visitors not permitted. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 21, 2020
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Jan 7, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue Jan 14, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue Jan 21, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue Jan 28, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue Feb 4, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue Feb 11, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue Feb 18, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue Feb 25, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue Mar 3, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue Mar 10, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue Mar 17, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Enrollment Closed
-
Wednesday 6:00PM - 9:00PM
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Bill Hackenberg
371610
Fee:
$999.00
See Details
Notes

Required course in Project Management Certificate.

Enrollment limited to 25; early enrollment advised. Visitors not permitted.

Materials required. Internet Access Required.
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 22, 2020
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Wed Jan 8, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Wed Jan 15, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Wed Jan 22, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Wed Jan 29, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Wed Feb 5, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Wed Feb 12, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Wed Feb 19, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Wed Feb 26, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Wed Mar 4, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Wed Mar 11, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Wed Mar 18, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118

Available Format(s):

These courses are fully online, and there are no in-person classroom meetings.

Future Offering (Opens February 03, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Instructor: Kevyn Jones
372814
Fee:
$999.00
See Details
Notes

Required course in Project Management Certificate.

Enrollment limited to 25; early enrollment advised.  Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 13, 2020
Course Requirements
Future Offering (Opens February 03, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Instructor: Tony Swaim
374130
Fee:
$999.00
See Details
Notes

Required course in Project Management Certificate.

Enrollment limited to 25; early enrollment advised.  Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after March 23, 2020
Course Requirements

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Future Offering (Opens February 03, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Tuesday 6:00PM - 9:00PM
Location: UCLA Extension DTLA
Instructor: Artin Mgrtichian
372804
Fee:
$999.00
See Details
Notes

Required course in Project Management Certificate.

Enrollment limited to 25; early enrollment advised. Visitors not permitted. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 14, 2020
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Mar 31, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue Apr 7, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue Apr 14, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue Apr 21, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue Apr 28, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue May 5, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue May 12, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue May 19, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue May 26, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue Jun 2, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Discussion
Tue Jun 9, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA Extension DTLA
UCLA Extension DTLA 103
Future Offering (Opens February 03, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Monday 6:00PM - 9:00PM
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Bill Hackenberg
372808
Fee:
$999.00
See Details
Notes

Required course in Project Management Certificate.

Enrollment limited to 25; early enrollment advised. Visitors not permitted.

Materials required. Internet Access Required.
Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 13, 2020
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Mon Mar 30, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Mon Apr 6, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Mon Apr 13, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Mon Apr 20, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Mon Apr 27, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Mon May 4, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Mon May 11, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Mon May 18, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Mon May 25, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Mon Jun 1, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Mon Jun 8, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118
Discussion
Mon Jun 15, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
UCLA
Math Sciences 5118

Contact Us

Our team members are here to help. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm
Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Project Management

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning