Project Schedule and Cost Management

MGMT X 444.2

Creating a timeline and a budget are two of the most vital factors in managing any project. This course will train you on the particulars to develop the project schedule and budget and how to track project performance for optimum results.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Online
Starting at $999.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0
3.3

What you can learn.

  • Describe project scheduling approaches including traditional methodologies like critical path and emerging practices like agile
  • Develop project schedules with activities, durations, and interdependencies
  • Apply scheduling optimization with crashing, fast-tracking, leads and lags to deliver projects on time
  • Use cost estimation techniques such as bottom-up, top-down, and parametric calculations to develop the project budget
  • Utilize Earned Value Management principles to track project budget performance and forecast future spending to avoid cost overruns

About this course:

Balance the trade-off between scope, time, and cost to deliver your project on time and within budget. This course also covers the concept of earned value management to track schedule and cost performance on your project to optimize results. This course will help you gain knowledge towards the PMP® Exam by PMI® and qualifies for the required 35 Contact Hours or PDU’s to apply for or maintain an existing PMP® certification.
PMI logo

UCLA Extension is a Project Management Institute Registered Education Provider (R.E.P.) and is approved by PMI to issue professional development units (PDUs).

Fall 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses are fully online and have no regular meeting times.

Available
-
This section has no set meeting times.
Instructor: Kevyn Jones
375476
Fee:
$999.00
45 days left. Enroll by Sep 28, 2020
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 12, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to access course materials.
Available
-
This section has no set meeting times.
Instructor: Tony Swaim
375477
Fee:
$999.00
45 days left. Enroll by Sep 28, 2020
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 12, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to access course materials.

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Available
-
Tuesday 6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Location: Online
Instructor: Artin Mgrtichian
375470
Fee:
$999.00
46 days left. Enroll by Sep 29, 2020
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 13, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to access course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Sep 29, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Tue Oct 6, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Tue Oct 13, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Tue Oct 20, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Tue Oct 27, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Tue Nov 3, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Tue Nov 10, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Tue Nov 17, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Tue Nov 24, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Tue Dec 1, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Tue Dec 8, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Available
-
Thursday 6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Location: Online
Instructor: Bill Hackenberg
375471
Fee:
$999.00
48 days left. Enroll by Oct 1, 2020
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 15, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to access course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Thu Oct 1, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Oct 8, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Oct 15, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Oct 22, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Oct 29, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Nov 5, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Nov 12, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Nov 19, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Nov 26, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Dec 3, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online
Discussion
Thu Dec 10, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PST
Online

Available Format(s):

These courses are fully online and have no regular meeting times.

Future Offering (Opens November 02, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
This section has no set meeting times.
Instructor: Kevyn Jones
377006
Fee:
$999.00
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 18, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to access course materials.
Future Offering (Opens November 02, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
This section has no set meeting times.
Instructor: Tony Swaim
377007
Fee:
$999.00
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 18, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to access course materials.

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Future Offering (Opens November 02, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Tuesday 6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Artin Mgrtichian
377004
Fee:
$999.00
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 19, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to access course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Jan 5, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Tue Jan 12, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Tue Jan 19, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Tue Jan 26, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Tue Feb 2, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Tue Feb 9, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Tue Feb 16, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Tue Feb 23, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Tue Mar 2, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Tue Mar 9, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Tue Mar 16, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Future Offering (Opens November 02, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Thursday 6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Location: Online
Instructor: Bill Hackenberg
377005
Fee:
$999.00
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 21, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to access course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Thu Jan 7, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Jan 14, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Jan 21, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Jan 28, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Feb 4, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Feb 11, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Feb 18, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Feb 25, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Mar 4, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Mar 11, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Discussion
Thu Mar 18, 2021
6:00PM PST - 9:00PM PDT
Online

Contact Us

Our team members are here to help. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm
Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Project Management

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning