Landscape Design 2: Site Design

ARCH X 471.1B

Learn how to analyze a site and create a program design that responds to the site and surroundings.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Winter
Spring
Hybrid (In-Person)
Starting at $925.00
As few as 10 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Complete a site analysis and inventory
  • Apply a design program to a site
  • Use design processes to develop design concepts and solutions

About this course:

This course introduces the landscape architectural design process. Emphasizing process and concept development, students identify a problem and then use site inventory, analysis, program development, and exploration to test solutions. Projects are small-scale sites—preferably actual and visitable, such as intimate courtyards, street plazas, and pocket parks—and/or physically built (i.e., limited use of computer drafting, rendering, and 3D modeling).
Prerequisites
ARCH X 471.1A Landscape Design 1 and ARCH X 472.4E Design Graphics 2. Candidacy in the Landscape Architecture Program.

Winter 2022 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Wednesday, Saturday
Enrollment Closed
See Details
Instructor: Jim Smith
383888
Fee:
$925.00
Hybrid (In-Person)format icon
Location: UCLA , Remote Classroom
Notes

No class meeting February 9.
Two in-person meetings at UCLA: Saturday, Jan 8 and Saturday, Feb 5
Visitors not permitted. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 14, 2022
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Sat Jan 8, 2022
9:00AM PT - 12:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Jan 12, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Jan 19, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Jan 26, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Feb 2, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Sat Feb 5, 2022
9:00AM PT - 12:00PM PT
UCLA
Rolfe Hall 3121
Lecture
Wed Feb 16, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Feb 23, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Mar 2, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Mar 9, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Mar 16, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom

Spring 2022 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Tuesday, Saturday
Future Offering (Opens January 31, 2022 12:00:00 AM)
See Details
Instructor: Jim Smith
385281
Fee:
$925.00
Hybrid (In-Person)format icon
Location: UCLA , Online
Notes

Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 08, 2022
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Sat Apr 2, 2022
9:00AM PT - 12:00PM PT
UCLA
Rolfe Hall 3121
Lecture
Tue Apr 5, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 12, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 19, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 26, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Sat Apr 30, 2022
9:00AM PT - 12:00PM PT
UCLA
Rolfe Hall 3121
Lecture
Tue May 10, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 17, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 24, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 31, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jun 7, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Ready to start
your future?
By signing up, you agree to UCLA Extension’s Privacy Policy.

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning