General and Organic Chemistry Laboratory II

CHEM XL 14CL

This chemistry laboratory course accompanies Chemistry 14C and provides the organic chemistry lab component necessary for pre-medical and pre-health students. This is the second lab course for the organic chemistry series.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $2,733.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Determine if a chemical reaction has taken place and predict the reaction products
  • Analyze lab protocols and perform procedures for synthesis and analysis of organic compounds
  • Recognize hydrophobic and hydrophilic interactions and predict the product
  • Write balanced chemical equations for reactions
  • Synthesize and purify a compound and analyze it using spectroscopic techniques
  • Understand retrosynthetic analysis

About this course:

This laboratory class covers the synthesis and analysis of compounds; purification by extraction, chromatography, recrystallization, and sublimation; characterization by mass spectroscopy; UV, NMR, and IR spectroscopy; optical activity; electrochemistry; and pH titration. Transferable for UC credit.
Prerequisites
CHEM 14B, CHEM 14BL, and CHEM 14C with grades of C- or better.

Fall 2021 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Friday, Saturday
Canceled
See Details
Instructor: Wei-Hao Huang
382194
Fee:
$2,733.00
Remote Instructionformat icon
Location: Online
Notes

No meeting November 27, 2021

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: Sept 24, 2021.  Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after September 28, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Techniques in Organic Chemistry by Mohrig, Hammond, and Schatz
Laboratory notebook with duplicate carbon copies
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lab
Fri Sep 24, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lab
Sat Sep 25, 2021
9:00AM PT - 12:00PM PT
Online
Lab
Fri Oct 1, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lab
Sat Oct 2, 2021
9:00AM PT - 12:00PM PT
Online
Lab
Fri Oct 8, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lab
Sat Oct 9, 2021
9:00AM PT - 12:00PM PT
Online
Lab
Fri Oct 15, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lab
Sat Oct 16, 2021
9:00AM PT - 12:00PM PT
Online
Lab
Fri Oct 22, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lab
Sat Oct 23, 2021
9:00AM PT - 12:00PM PT
Online
Lab
Fri Oct 29, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lab
Sat Oct 30, 2021
9:00AM PT - 12:00PM PT
Online
Lab
Fri Nov 5, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lab
Sat Nov 6, 2021
9:00AM PT - 12:00PM PT
Online
Lab
Fri Nov 12, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lab
Sat Nov 13, 2021
9:00AM PT - 12:00PM PT
Online
Lab
Fri Nov 19, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lab
Sat Nov 20, 2021
9:00AM PT - 12:00PM PT
Online
Lab
Fri Nov 26, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lab
Fri Dec 3, 2021
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
Online
Lab
Sat Dec 4, 2021
9:00AM PT - 12:00PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Sciences

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning