General Chemistry for Life Scientists I

CHEM XL 14A

This course provides an introduction to physical and general chemistry and is geared towards pre-medical and pre-health students. This course is the first course in the general and organic chemistry series.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote
In-Person
Starting at $955.00
As few as 10 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Write basic chemical equations
  • Master introductory quantum mechanics
  • Master the basics of molecular structures
  • Establish a strong foundation of acids and bases
  • Prepare for organic chemistry

About this course:

This course provides an introduction to physical and general chemistry principles; atomic structure based on quantum mechanics; atomic properties; trends in the periodic table; chemical bonding (Lewis structures, VSEPR theory, hybridization, and molecular orbital theory); gaseous and aqueous equilibria; properties of inorganic and organic acids, bases, and buffers; and titrations. Transferable for UC credit.
Prerequisites
High school chemistry, or equivalent background and three-and-a-half years of high school mathematics. 

Winter 2023 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Wednesday 6:00PM - 10:00PM PT
Enrollment Closed
See Details
Instructor: David James Watts
390039
Fee:
$955.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Remote Classroom
Notes

Not open for credit to students with credit for CHEM 11A or 20A. This is the first chemistry course in the sequence for premedical and other pre-allied health studies.

Fulfills in part the UCLA General Education requirement for Physical Sciences.

Enrollment deadline: January 18, 2023 . Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 24, 2023
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Chemical Principles: The Quest for Insight by Peter Atkins, Loretta L. Jones, Leroy E. Laverman
(Optional) Molecular Model Kit
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Jan 11, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Jan 18, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Jan 25, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Feb 1, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Feb 8, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Feb 15, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Feb 22, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Mar 1, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Mar 8, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Mar 15, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
-
Saturday 9:00AM - 1:00PM PT
Enrollment Closed
See Details
Instructor: David James Watts
390040
Fee:
$955.00
In-Personformat icon
Location: UCLA
Notes

Not open for credit to students with credit for CHEM 11A or 20A. This is the first chemistry course in the sequence for premedical and other pre-allied health studies.

Fulfills in part the UCLA General Education requirement for Physical Sciences.

Enrollment deadline: January 21, 2023 . Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 27, 2023
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Chemical Principles: The Quest for Insight by Peter Atkins, Loretta L. Jones, Leroy E. Laverman
(Optional) Molecular Model Kit
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Sat Jan 14, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
UCLA
Young Hall CS76
Lecture
Sat Jan 21, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
UCLA
Young Hall CS76
Lecture
Sat Jan 28, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
UCLA
Young Hall CS76
Lecture
Sat Feb 4, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
UCLA
Young Hall CS76
Lecture
Sat Feb 11, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
UCLA
Young Hall CS76
Lecture
Sat Feb 18, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
UCLA
Young Hall CS76
Lecture
Sat Feb 25, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
UCLA
Young Hall CS76
Lecture
Sat Mar 4, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
UCLA
Young Hall CS76
Lecture
Sat Mar 11, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
UCLA
Young Hall CS76
Lecture
Sat Mar 18, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
UCLA
Young Hall CS76

Spring 2023 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Saturday 9:00AM - 1:00PM PT
Future Offering (Opens February 06, 2023 12:00:00 AM)
See Details
Instructor: David James Watts
391490
Fee:
$955.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Remote Classroom
Notes

Not open for credit to students with credit for CHEM 11A or 20A. This is the first chemistry course in the sequence for premedical and other pre-allied health studies.

Fulfills in part the UCLA General Education requirement for Physical Sciences.

Enrollment deadline: April 15, 2023 . Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 21, 2023
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Chemical Principles: The Quest for Insight by Peter Atkins, Loretta L. Jones, Leroy E. Laverman
(Optional) Molecular Model Kit
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Sat Apr 8, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Sat Apr 15, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Sat Apr 22, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Sat Apr 29, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Sat May 6, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Sat May 13, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Sat May 20, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Sat May 27, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Sat Jun 3, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Sat Jun 10, 2023
9:00AM PT - 1:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
-
Monday 6:00PM - 10:00PM PT
Future Offering (Opens February 06, 2023 12:00:00 AM)
See Details
Instructor: David James Watts
390885
Fee:
$955.00
In-Personformat icon
Location: UCLA
Notes

Not open for credit to students with credit for CHEM 11A or 20A. This is the first chemistry course in the sequence for premedical and other pre-allied health studies.

Fulfills in part the UCLA General Education requirement for Physical Sciences.

Enrollment deadline: April 9, 2023. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 16, 2023
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Chemical Principles: The Quest for Insight by Peter Atkins, Loretta L. Jones, Leroy E. Laverman
(Optional) Molecular Model Kit
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Apr 3, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 5264
Lecture
Mon Apr 10, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 5264
Lecture
Mon Apr 17, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 5264
Lecture
Mon Apr 24, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 5264
Lecture
Mon May 1, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 5264
Lecture
Mon May 8, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 5264
Lecture
Mon May 15, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 5264
Lecture
Mon May 22, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 5264
Lecture
Mon May 29, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 5264
Lecture
Mon Jun 5, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 5264
Lecture
Mon Jun 12, 2023
6:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 5264

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Ready to start
your future?
By signing up, you agree to UCLA Extension’s Privacy Policy.

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning