Microbiology Laboratory for Professional Schools

MIMG XL 100L

Designed for non-majors, this course emphasizes experimental techniques to cultivate and characterize bacteria.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Spring
Remote Instruction
Starting at $2,743.00
As few as 11 weeks
3.0

What you can learn.

  • Execute experiments in groups to analyze microorganisms and viruses
  • Explore how environmental conditions influence microbial growth
  • Understand light microscopy and quantitative techniques required for microbiological and biochemical processes

About this course:

Experimental techniques of microbiology, with emphasis on cultivation and characterization of bacteria. Laboratory exercises include light microscopy, quantitative techniques, and identification methods. Students learn to work effectively in groups to perform experiments, record observations, and analyze results. Limited to non-majors. Letter grading. Transferable for UC credit.
Prerequisites
Life Sciences 7A, 7B, and 23L.

Spring 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses meet regularly and are fully online. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Available
-
Tuesday, Friday, Saturday
Location: Online
Instructor: Rishab Gupta
373364
Fee:
$2,743.00
2 days left. Enroll by Mar 31, 2020
See Details
Notes

No meeting April 18; May 23.

Laboratory meets on Santa Monica College campus. Enrollment contingent upon signing a liability waiver form.

Fee includes lab costs. Additional nonrefundable fee $285.

Enrollment limited to 25 students. Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: April 3, 2020.  Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 07, 2020
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Mar 31, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 8:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 7, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 8:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 14, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 8:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 21, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 8:30PM PDT
Online
Lab
Sat Apr 25, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Apr 28, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 8:30PM PDT
Online
Lab
Sat May 2, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 5, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 8:30PM PDT
Online
Lab
Sat May 9, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 12, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 8:30PM PDT
Online
Lab
Sat May 16, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 19, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 8:30PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue May 26, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 8:30PM PDT
Online
Lab
Fri May 29, 2020
6:00PM PDT - 9:00PM PDT
Online
Lab
Sat May 30, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jun 2, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 8:30PM PDT
Online
Lab
Sat Jun 6, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:00PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Tue Jun 9, 2020
6:30PM PDT - 8:30PM PDT
Online
Lab
Sat Jun 13, 2020
9:00AM PDT - 12:00PM PDT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Sciences

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning