Biochemistry: Biosynthetic and Energy Metabolism and Its Regulation

CHEM XL 153C

This course is a continuation of the biochemistry series and is geared towards pre-medical and pre-health students. It covers metabolism at a cellular, organ, and organismal level.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Spring
Remote
In-Person
Starting at $955.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Understand enzyme-catalyzed reactions in metabolic pathways
  • Gain a broad understanding of carbohydrate, amino acids, and lipid metabolism
  • Understand the regulation and integration of metabolic pathways
  • Explore the resulting pathophysiological states from a mis- or dysregulation of metabolic pathways
  • Read and comprehend primary literature articles related to metabolism

About this course:

This course discusses the metabolism of carbohydrates, fatty acids, amino acids, and lipids. Additionally, the course covers photosynthetic metabolism and assimilation of inorganic nutrients. Finally, the course covers the regulation of these processes. Transferable for UC credit.
Prerequisites

LIFESCI 2 and LIFESCI 3 (or LIFESCI 7A, 7B, and 7C), LIFESCI 23L, and CHEM 153A with a grade of C or better.

Winter 2023 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Thursday 6:00PM - 9:00PM PT
Enrollment Closed
See Details
Instructor: Nagendra N. Mishra
390070
Fee:
$955.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Remote Classroom
Notes
Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: January 19, 2023.  Internet access required. Materials required.
Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 25, 2023
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Biochemistry by Donald Voet and Judith G. Voet
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Jan 12, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Jan 19, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Jan 26, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Feb 2, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Feb 9, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Feb 16, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Feb 23, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Mar 2, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Mar 9, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Mar 16, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Mar 23, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
-
Tuesday 6:00PM - 9:30PM PT
Canceled
See Details
Instructor: Shakir Sayani
390916
Fee:
$955.00
In-Personformat icon
Location: UCLA
Notes

Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: January 17, 2023. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 23, 2023
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
(Optional) Book: Biochemistry by Donald Voet and Judith G. Voet
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Jan 10, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Haines Hall A18
Lecture
Tue Jan 17, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Haines Hall A18
Lecture
Tue Jan 24, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Haines Hall A18
Lecture
Tue Jan 31, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Haines Hall A18
Lecture
Tue Feb 7, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Haines Hall A18
Lecture
Tue Feb 14, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Haines Hall A18
Lecture
Tue Feb 21, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Haines Hall A18
Lecture
Tue Feb 28, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Haines Hall A18
Lecture
Tue Mar 7, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Haines Hall A18
Lecture
Tue Mar 14, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Haines Hall A18
Lecture
Tue Mar 21, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Haines Hall A18

Spring 2023 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Friday 6:00PM - 9:00PM PT
Future Offering (Opens February 06, 2023 12:00:00 AM)
See Details
Instructor: Nagendra N. Mishra
391502
Fee:
$955.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Remote Classroom
Notes
Enrollment limited; early enrollment advised. Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: April 14, 2023.  Internet access required. Materials required.
Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 20, 2023
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Book: Biochemistry by Donald Voet and Judith G. Voet
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Fri Apr 7, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Fri Apr 14, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Fri Apr 21, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Fri Apr 28, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Fri May 5, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Fri May 12, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Fri May 19, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Fri May 26, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Fri Jun 2, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Fri Jun 9, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Fri Jun 16, 2023
6:00PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Ready to start
your future?
By signing up, you agree to UCLA Extension’s Privacy Policy.

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning