The Art of Line Producing

FILM TV X 478.13A

Gain an understanding of the boots-on-the-ground work of physical production through the various tasks of a line producer such as creating a budget, location scouting, hiring crew, and everything in between.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Classroom
Starting at $699.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Explore what it means to lead every aspect of physical production
  • Learn the on-set problem solving strategies necessary for a successful production
  • Discover the difference of line producing on an independent versus studio production

About this course:

This comprehensive, step-by-step overview of physical production processes covers the tangible and intangible aspects of line producing, including budget; breakdown and scheduling; hiring and working with cast, director, staff, crew, and outside vendors; choosing locations; equipment and music; how to deal with divergent personalities and specific problem solving during production; and the differences between producing a movie independently versus with a studio. The course also includes a comprehensive introduction to Movie Magic scheduling software. This is not an introduction to production course.
Suggested Prerequisites

It is advisable that you complete the following (or equivalent) since they are prerequisites for The Art of Line Producing.

A basic knowledge of film production is highly recommended.

Winter 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Enrollment Closed
-
Wednesday, Saturday
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Lydia Cedrone
371314
Fee:
$699.00
See Details
Notes

No mtg. Jan. 15. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 21, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Wed Jan 8, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 146
Discussion
Wed Jan 22, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 146
Discussion
Wed Jan 29, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 146
Discussion
Wed Feb 5, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 146
Discussion
Wed Feb 12, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 146
Discussion
Wed Feb 19, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 146
Discussion
Sat Feb 22, 2020
10:00AM - 1:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 147
Discussion
Wed Feb 26, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 146
Discussion
Wed Mar 4, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 146
Discussion
Wed Mar 11, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 146
Discussion
Wed Mar 18, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 146

Available Format(s):

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Future Offering (Opens February 03, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Tuesday, Saturday
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Lydia Cedrone
372938
Fee:
$699.00
See Details
Notes

No meeting Apr. 14. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 13, 2020
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Mar 31, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Tue Apr 7, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Tue Apr 21, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Sat Apr 25, 2020
2:00PM - 5:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Tue Apr 28, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Tue May 5, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Tue May 12, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Tue May 19, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Tue May 26, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Tue Jun 2, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Tue Jun 9, 2020
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Film & TV

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning