The Art of Line Producing

FILM TV X 478.13A

Gain an understanding of the boots-on-the-ground work of physical production through the various tasks of a line producer such as creating a budget, location scouting, hiring crew, and everything in between.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote
Starting at $699.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Explore what it means to lead every aspect of physical production
  • Learn the on-set problem solving strategies necessary for a successful production
  • Discover the difference of line producing on an independent versus studio production

About this course:

This comprehensive, step-by-step overview of physical production processes covers the tangible and intangible aspects of line producing, including budget; breakdown and scheduling; hiring and working with cast, director, staff, crew, and outside vendors; choosing locations; equipment and music; how to deal with divergent personalities and specific problem solving during production; and the differences between producing a movie independently versus with a studio. The course also includes a comprehensive introduction to Movie Magic scheduling software. This is not an introduction to production course.
Prerequisites
A basic knowledge of film production is highly recommended.

Winter 2022 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Wednesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM PT
Enrollment Closed
See Details
Instructor: Moana Sherrill
384413
Fee:
$699.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Remote Classroom
Notes

Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 18, 2022
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Jan 5, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Jan 12, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Jan 19, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Jan 26, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Feb 2, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Feb 9, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Feb 16, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Feb 23, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Mar 2, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Mar 9, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Wed Mar 16, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom

Spring 2022 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Thursday 7:00PM - 10:00PM PT
Future Offering (Opens January 31, 2022 12:00:00 AM)
See Details
385601
Fee:
$699.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Remote Classroom
Notes

Students enrolled in this section may be eligible to purchase Movie Magic at a discount. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 13, 2022
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Mar 31, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Apr 7, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Apr 14, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Apr 21, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Apr 28, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu May 5, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu May 12, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu May 19, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu May 26, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Jun 2, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Thu Jun 9, 2022
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Ready to start
your future?
By signing up, you agree to UCLA Extension’s Privacy Policy.

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning