The Art of Line Producing

FILM TV X 478.13A
Gain an understanding of the boots-on-the-ground work of physical production through the various tasks of a line producer such as creating a budget, location scouting, hiring crew, and everything in between.
READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Classroom
Starting at $699.00
As few as 10 weeks
4.0 Credits

What you can learn.

  • Explore what it means to lead every aspect of physical production
  • Learn the on-set problem solving strategies necessary for a successful production
  • Discover the difference of line producing on an independent versus studio production

About this course:

This comprehensive, step-by-step overview of physical production processes covers the tangible and intangible aspects of line producing, including budget; breakdown and scheduling; hiring and working with cast, director, staff, crew, and outside vendors; choosing locations; equipment and music; how to deal with divergent personalities and specific problem solving during production; and the differences between producing a movie independently versus with a studio. This is not an introduction to production course.
Suggested Prerequisites

It is advisable that you complete the following (or equivalent) since they are prerequisites for The Art of Line Producing.

A basic knowledge of film production and Movie Magic Budgeting and Scheduling software are highly recommended.

Fall 2018 Schedule

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Enrollment Closed
-
Monday, Saturday
Location: UCLA
Instructor: Lydia Cedrone
363327
Fee:
$699.00
See Details
Notes

No meeting November 12.

No refund after October 15. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 15, 2018
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Mon Oct 1, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Mon Oct 8, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Mon Oct 15, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Sat Oct 20, 2018
10:00AM - 5:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 167
Discussion
Mon Oct 22, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Mon Oct 29, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Mon Nov 5, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Mon Nov 12, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Mon Nov 19, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Mon Nov 26, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170
Discussion
Mon Dec 3, 2018
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 170

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Future Offering (Opens 05 Nov 2018 12:00:00 AM)
-
Wednesday 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Location: UCLA
365267
Fee:
$699.00
See Details
Notes

Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 22, 2019
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Wed Jan 9, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 178
Discussion
Wed Jan 16, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 178
Discussion
Wed Jan 23, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 178
Discussion
Wed Jan 30, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 178
Discussion
Wed Feb 6, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 178
Discussion
Wed Feb 13, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 178
Discussion
Wed Feb 20, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 178
Discussion
Wed Feb 27, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 178
Discussion
Wed Mar 6, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 178
Discussion
Wed Mar 13, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 178
Discussion
Wed Mar 20, 2019
7:00PM - 10:00PM
UCLA
Dodd Hall 178

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Film & TV

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning