Abnormal Psychology

PSYCH XL 127A

This introductory course provides an overview of abnormal psychology, abnormal personality patterns, and psychological disorders.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote
In-Person
Starting at $895.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Explore the role of biological, cognitive, and cultural factors in abnormal psychology
  • Critically evaluate theories, research, and treatment related to psychological disorders
  • Compare normality with abnormality to discuss validity and reliability of diagnosis

About this course:

This course presents the study of psychological disorders including depression, anxiety, substance use disorders, and schizophrenia across lifespan. The role of biological, behavioral, social, cognitive, and cultural factors; diagnosis; and treatment approaches are reviewed. Students critically evaluate theories, research, and treatment related to psychological disorders from a cultural and social perspective. Discussion focuses on how stigma affects access to care and what practices can be implemented to support inclusiveness. Transferable for UC credit.
Prerequisites
PSYCH XL 10 (Introductory Psychology)

Fall 2022 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Monday 6:15PM - 9:15PM PT
Enrollment Closed
See Details
387882
Fee:
$895.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Remote Classroom
Notes

Lecture three hours. Weekly one-hour discussion online through the Canvas Learning Management System.

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: September 25, 2022. Internet access required. Materials required. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 02, 2022
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Sep 19, 2022
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Sep 26, 2022
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Oct 3, 2022
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Oct 10, 2022
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Oct 17, 2022
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Oct 24, 2022
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Oct 31, 2022
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Nov 7, 2022
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Nov 14, 2022
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Nov 21, 2022
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Nov 28, 2022
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Remote Classroom
-
Thursday 6:30PM - 9:30PM PT
Canceled
See Details
Instructor: John W. Carter
389020
Fee:
$895.00
In-Personformat icon
Location: UCLA
Notes

Lecture three hours. Weekly one-hour discussion online through the Canvas Learning Management System.

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: September 29, 2022. Internet access required. Materials required. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 05, 2022
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Thu Sep 22, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 4283
Lecture
Thu Sep 29, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 4283
Lecture
Thu Oct 6, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 4283
Lecture
Thu Oct 13, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 4283
Lecture
Thu Oct 20, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 4283
Lecture
Thu Oct 27, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 4283
Lecture
Thu Nov 3, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 4283
Lecture
Thu Nov 10, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 4283
Lecture
Thu Nov 17, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 4283
Lecture
Thu Dec 1, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 4283
Lecture
Thu Dec 8, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:30PM PT
UCLA
Boelter Hall 4283

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm
Ready to start
your future?
By signing up, you agree to UCLA Extension’s Privacy Policy.

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning