Abnormal Psychology

PSYCH XL 127A

This introductory course provides an overview of abnormal psychology, abnormal personality patterns, and psychological disorders.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Remote Instruction
Classroom
Starting at $895.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Explore the role of biological, cognitive, and cultural factors in abnormal psychology
  • Critically evaluate theories, research, and treatment related to psychological disorders
  • Compare normality with abnormality to discuss validity and reliability of diagnosis

About this course:

This course presents the study of psychological disorders including depression, anxiety, substance use disorders, and schizophrenia across lifespan. The role of biological, behavioral, social, cognitive, and cultural factors; diagnosis; and treatment approaches are reviewed. Students will critically evaluate theories, research, and treatment related to psychological disorders from a cultural and social perspective. Discussion will focus on how stigma affects access to care and what practices can be implemented to support inclusiveness. Transferable for UC credit.
Prerequisites
PSYCH XL 10 (Introductory Psychology)

Spring 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses meet regularly and are fully online. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Enrollment Closed
-
Wednesday 6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Location: Online
373023
Fee:
$895.00
See Details
Notes

Lecture three hours. Weekly one-hour discussion online through the Canvas Learning Management System.

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: April 8, 2020. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after April 15, 2020
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Apr 1, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 8, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 15, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 22, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Apr 29, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 6, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 13, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 20, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed May 27, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jun 3, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jun 10, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Online

Available Format(s):

These courses meet in person and make use of an online presence to varying degrees.

Future Offering (Opens April 27, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Monday 6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
Location: UCLA
373955
Fee:
$895.00
See Details
Notes

Lecture three hours. Weekly one-hour discussion online through the Canvas Learning Management System.

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: June 29, 2020. Internet access required. Materials required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after July 06, 2020
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Jun 22, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
UCLA
Royce Hall 150
Lecture
Mon Jun 29, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
UCLA
Royce Hall 150
Lecture
Mon Jul 6, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
UCLA
Royce Hall 150
Lecture
Mon Jul 13, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
UCLA
Royce Hall 150
Lecture
Mon Jul 20, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
UCLA
Royce Hall 150
Lecture
Mon Jul 27, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
UCLA
Royce Hall 150
Lecture
Mon Aug 3, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
UCLA
Royce Hall 150
Lecture
Mon Aug 10, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
UCLA
Royce Hall 150
Lecture
Mon Aug 17, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
UCLA
Royce Hall 150
Lecture
Mon Aug 24, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
UCLA
Royce Hall 150
Lecture
Mon Aug 31, 2020
6:15PM PDT - 9:15PM PDT
UCLA
Royce Hall 150

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm
Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Humanities & Social Sciences-General

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning