Abnormal Psychology

PSYCH XL 127A

This introductory course provides an overview of abnormal psychology, abnormal personality patterns, and psychological disorders.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Winter
Spring
Summer
Remote Instruction
Starting at $895.00
As few as 11 weeks
4.0

What you can learn.

  • Explore the role of biological, cognitive, and cultural factors in abnormal psychology
  • Critically evaluate theories, research, and treatment related to psychological disorders
  • Compare normality with abnormality to discuss validity and reliability of diagnosis

About this course:

This course presents the study of psychological disorders including depression, anxiety, substance use disorders, and schizophrenia across lifespan. The role of biological, behavioral, social, cognitive, and cultural factors; diagnosis; and treatment approaches are reviewed. Students will critically evaluate theories, research, and treatment related to psychological disorders from a cultural and social perspective. Discussion will focus on how stigma affects access to care and what practices can be implemented to support inclusiveness. Transferable for UC credit.
Prerequisites
PSYCH XL 10 (Introductory Psychology)

Fall 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Enrollment Closed
-
Monday, Wednesday 6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Location: Online
375694
Fee:
$895.00
See Details
Notes

No meeting on November 11, 2020. Make-up meeting on November 9, 2020. 

Lecture three hours. Weekly one-hour discussion online through the Canvas Learning Management System.

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: October 7, 2020. Internet access required. Materials required. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 14, 2020
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Wed Sep 30, 2020
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 7, 2020
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 14, 2020
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 21, 2020
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Oct 28, 2020
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 4, 2020
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Nov 9, 2020
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 11, 2020
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 18, 2020
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Nov 25, 2020
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Dec 2, 2020
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Dec 9, 2020
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online

Available Format(s):

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Future Offering (Opens November 02, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Monday, Wednesday 6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Location: Online
377323
Fee:
$895.00
See Details
Notes

No meetings January 18; February 15, 2021.

Lecture three hours. Weekly one-hour discussion online through the Canvas Learning Management System.

Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: January 11, 2021. Internet access required. Materials required. 

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 20, 2021
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Mon Jan 4, 2021
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jan 11, 2021
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jan 18, 2021
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Jan 20, 2021
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Jan 25, 2021
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Feb 1, 2021
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Feb 8, 2021
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Feb 15, 2021
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Wed Feb 17, 2021
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Feb 22, 2021
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Mar 1, 2021
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Mar 8, 2021
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online
Lecture
Mon Mar 15, 2021
6:15PM PT - 9:15PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm
Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Humanities & Social Sciences-General

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning