Ultimate Character Creation

SCRIPT X 464.5E

Create dynamic, richly drawn characters audiences will love in this practical workshop for writers looking for an edge.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Remote Instruction
Starting at $665.00
As few as 10 weeks
3.0

What you can learn.

  • Identify what makes characters compelling and unforgettable
  • Dive into writing unlikeable characters and villains, and strong supporting characters
  • Focus on key scenes that reveal deep character traits
  • Learn to craft backstory, psychology, and motivation into each character you write

About this course:

Having a great story is crucial, but the key to selling your screenplay is character. You must have great characters. In this class, you learn how to create dynamic, exciting characters that audiences will love and actors will be dying to play (the real secret to selling and getting your screenplay made!). In this course, you analyze great movie characters, focusing on key scenes that make us fall in love with a character; examine unlikable characters, villains, and supporting characters; and also dive into narrative function, character arc, backstory, psychology and motivation, personality, and body language. Step by step, you build your characters through the use of weekly assignments, including exercises, worksheets, and scene writing, giving you the ultimate toolbox for creating truly great characters every time.

Fall 2020 Schedule

Available Format(s):

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Enrollment Closed
-
Tuesday 7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Donald H. Hewitt
376905
Fee:
$665.00
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited to 15 students.

This course uses remote instruction. As such, instructors use Zoom to offer live class meetings at the designated class meeting time. Students must be present at course meeting times as each student’s final grade may include scores for participation. Please inform your instructor if you will miss a class meeting. You are responsible for any class information you missed. We suggest you arrange with a fellow classmate to share their notes when feasible.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 13, 2020
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Sep 29, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Oct 6, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Oct 13, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Oct 20, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Oct 27, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Nov 10, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Nov 17, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Nov 24, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Dec 1, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Dec 8, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Enrollment Closed
-
Thursday 7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Donald H. Hewitt
378168
Fee:
$665.00
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited to 15 students.

This course uses remote instruction. As such, instructors use Zoom to offer live class meetings at the designated class meeting time. Students must be present at course meeting times as each student’s final grade may include scores for participation. Please inform your instructor if you will miss a class meeting. You are responsible for any class information you missed. We suggest you arrange with a fellow classmate to share their notes when feasible.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after October 22, 2020
Course Requirements
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Thu Oct 8, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Oct 15, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Oct 22, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Oct 29, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Nov 5, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Nov 12, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Nov 19, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Dec 3, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Dec 10, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Thu Dec 17, 2020
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online

Available Format(s):

These courses have regular meeting times and are fully online, via remote instruction. Click “See Details” below for more information.

Future Offering (Opens November 02, 2020 12:00:00 AM)
-
Tuesday 7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Location: Online
Instructor: Donald H. Hewitt
377540
Fee:
$665.00
See Details
Notes

Enrollment limited to 15 students.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after January 19, 2021
Course Requirements
Internet access required to retrieve course materials.
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Discussion
Tue Jan 5, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Jan 12, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Jan 19, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Jan 26, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Feb 2, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Feb 9, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Feb 16, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Feb 23, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Mar 2, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online
Discussion
Tue Mar 9, 2021
7:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Online

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm.

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Keep up to date on the latest news and offerings in Screenwriting

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning